La promesse (2016) Poster

(II) (2016)

User Reviews

Add a Review
660 Reviews
Sort by:
10/10
This is why you don't close your forums IMDb
Harley Quinzel12 July 2017
Something is wrong when the downvotes are massive on a film with no real release. Then you realize its about the armenian genocide.... This could have been revealed in the discussion page rather than people posting fake reviews, but here it is, you made your page less informative because you were so afraid of trolls you ripped out and erased a basic feature for your site, you lost the ability to pick the brain of the world.
112 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The overall rating is false: it's being down-voted by genocide denialists.
isabelg_miranda2 August 2017
Well, screw those who would destroy History because truth hurts their feelings. The Armenian genocide happened, and whoever tries to censor this film will do so in vain, or so I hope.

The movie is good, in general Oscar Isaac doesn't disappoint, and Le Bon adorably shines. That said, the crude, sad part is hard enough to watch, especially when you consider what's been shown is a mild version of what happened.

It's a good movie, even though a ten is too much, I have to over-vote it to compensate for those who willingly down-vote in order to bury the truth in the sand. Worth to get to know what happened, if only because many wouldn't want you to.
63 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Something's Not Right Here....
lpfrey-117 April 2017
Copied from another user: "Dear IMDb, Yesterday I stumbled upon an article about a film called 'The Promise' and how it has received an unprecedented amount of negative reviews on your site. This film has been screened three times, one being at the Toronto Film Festival on September 11, 2016. And yet it has over 55,000 1-star reviews. How is that possible? This film is about a touchy subject for many because it centers around the time the Ottoman Empire carried out a genocide against the Armenian people. But since it is not possible that all these people have seen the film considering the simple fact that it has not been released anywhere yet, how can people leave negative reviews about a film they've never seen? In my humble opinion, it really questions your website's credibility. This film was produced by someone who had a vision and his name was Kirk Kerkorian. He put many of his earnings on the line to put this movie into production. The director, Terry George, is one of the most renowned and respected in Hollywood. The cast is made up of countless brilliant actors. This film has quality written all over it and yet it is being unfairly rated down by people who haven't seen it. It is a known fact that the Turkish government and people have been denying this genocide for over a century and are willing to go to great lengths for it to remain unrecognized. But to allow your website to become a weapon of Turkish denial and propaganda is not the standard that your company set for itself when IMDb was launched. Your website has always been a respectable portal of knowledge about all films of the world, so I am in real disbelief as to why a film that has not been released to the public is being defamed and down-rated by Internet trolls. As I said, this whole situation just questions the validity of IMDb. Please do not allow this to keep happening. There are so many people who dedicated their time and effort to the making of this film. They spent millions of dollars to make it happen. This film tells a story of an event that the world needs to know about. And until people have the chance to see it with their own eyes and in turn draw their own conclusions, please do not allow this kind of spiteful rating to continue. Please do not let your site become another place of hateful political ranting. It only does you a great disservice."
221 out of 292 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Wonderful Film
michaeljtrubic24 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Many films that debuted at this years Tiff were based on unfortunate periods of history. I hope that some of them can learn from this film. This has at its heart a love story. It also depicts what a nation is capable of doing to an ethic group when its leaders (both secular and spiritual) reduce the value of life of different cultures to nothing if it is not theirs - Islam.

This film is from the same director that brought Hotel Rwanda to the festival a few years back. That presentation was a wonderfully moving experience for me as this one was also.

This film is not all about murder thankfully. Its about the people who were once a vibrant part of the former Ottoman empire that find all of their hopes and dreams for the future suddenly crushed. It has at its core a wonderful love story and it has attracted many fine actors to portray these memorable roles. I found the female roles to be particularly well designed and delivered. Excellent female roles in this film.

FYI: At my screening (2nd) the director told us that there were 1400 seats at the first screening and that there were already 4000 negative reviews on IMDb - yes he reads these reviews. I don't believe 100's of Turks would come to a film festival only to learn about the Armenian Holocaust. No one at my screening cried foul.

People that maintain it didn't happen are still trapped in a loop of denial.

If we cannot remember the past we are doomed to repeat it.

This film is careful not to delve to strongly into the depiction of violence. I think this film might be appropriate to teach children about history and also to teach children about people who want to cover up history.

It is October 5th, almost a month now since the premiere. Currently 54,000 negative reviews for a film that hasn't opened yet - that must be some sort of a record.
453 out of 665 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Overall great movie
jtchagla2 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I saw this movie at the Toronto film festival 4 or 5 months ago. It was honestly a very good movie. Christian Bale and Isaac did a good job acting in this movie. As a fellow Armenian, I am also disappointed in all the bad reviews that this movie has received. This movie is right now a 4.1 / 10 when it should really be closer to an 8 or 9 or at least a 7. This movie was rated before it even came out and it is not fair that it doesn't receive a fair rating. Overall this was a good movie. The music was well done by the singer of System of a Down and the director did a good job as well putting everything together. I would recommend seeing this movie for anyone who is out there.
283 out of 417 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Moving love triangle, leading to Armenian Genocide
Frank Nacsa13 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Beautifully shot film, with intriguing intertwined love stories. Well balanced between the protagonists narratives and the inevitable lead-in to the Armenian Genocide, showing its impact on a very human level, particularly on the story's leads.

Those who provide a 1 star of 10 clearly are not actually rating the film, but providing political feedback. How many who have rated it as 1 in 10 have actually seen the film? Doubt many have. Some of the rants are a clear attempt at revisionist history to try to rationalize the actions of the Ottomans. Sad part is that there really should be no need for those rating that way to do so, since Turkey (which I know is a denier) is not the same as the Ottoman Empire, and modern Turkey (though less modern under Erdogan), and Turks, should feel no compulsion to try to defend that Empire.

Please use IMDb for the purposes for which it is meant, not to attack for political purposes. It would be fair, for example, only once one sees a film, to criticize it for being too political (though politics are worthy of expression in film), or too one-sided, and explain why, with examples.
501 out of 779 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A great period piece about a forgotten genocide. Superb.
raffilalazarian16 April 2017
Dear IMDb, Yesterday I stumbled upon an article about a film called 'The Promise' and how it has received an unprecedented amount of negative reviews on your site. This film has been screened three times, one being at the Toronto Film Festival on September 11, 2016. And yet it has over 55,000 1-star reviews. How is that possible? This film is about a touchy subject for many because it centers around the time the Ottoman Empire carried out a genocide against the Armenian people. But since it is not possible that all these people have seen the film considering the simple fact that it has not been released anywhere yet, how can people leave negative reviews about a film they've never seen? In my humble opinion, it really questions your website's credibility. This film was produced by someone who had a vision and his name was Kirk Kerkorian. He put many of his earnings on the line to put this movie into production. The director, Terry George, is one of the most renowned and respected in Hollywood. The cast is made up of countless brilliant actors. This film has quality written all over it and yet it is being unfairly rated down by people who haven't seen it. It is a known fact that the Turkish government and people have been denying this genocide for over a century and are willing to go to great lengths for it to remain unrecognized. But to allow your website to become a weapon of Turkish denial and propaganda is not the standard that your company set for itself when IMDb was launched. Your website has always been a respectable portal of knowledge about all films of the world, so I am in real disbelief as to why a film that has not been released to the public is being defamed and down- rated by Internet trolls. As I said, this whole situation just questions the validity of IMDb. Please do not allow this to keep happening. There are so many people who dedicated their time and effort to the making of this film. They spent millions of dollars to make it happen. This film tells a story of an event that the world needs to know about. And until people have the chance to see it with their own eyes and in turn draw their own conclusions, please do not allow this kind of spiteful rating to continue. Please do not let your site become another place of hateful political ranting. It only does you a great disservice."

Was the above review useful to you? Yes No
154 out of 233 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent movie--romance, action, it has it all
mamlukman22 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I also saw this in Toronto during the film festival. The director and main actors (except Christian Bale) were present and answered questions.

The first question was the Turkish reaction--you can see that for yourselves: 84,000 ratings (low!) on IMDb BEFORE the premier of the film! Magic, right? Clearly the Turks are organized and out to sabotage this movie. 84,000 ratings don't appear without some organization, so I assume some government interference. Not very subtle.

Like Dr. Zhivago (to which the director gladly admitted similarities), it is a love triangle set amid WW I. In this case, our hero is from a small town in eastern Turkey, an Armenian. He's about to leave for medical school in Istanbul, and gets engaged to another Armenian woman. Her dowry gives him the money necessary to pay for medical school. He befriends a Turk whose father is in the upper echelons of government, and he falls in love with another Armenian woman he meets at his uncle's house, where he is staying. His uncle is a rich merchant, and the woman is the nanny. But she is also having an affair with Christian Bale, who plays an American war correspondent.

The Ottomans begin rounding up Armenians after they enter the war, sending the men to work battalions to construct railways and exiling the old men, women, and children to Syria. Our hero escapes and goes back to his native town, which so far has avoided problems. His parents want him to marry his fiancée, and he's in no position to say no, so he does, despite his love for the other woman, who is now supposedly out of the picture. But of course she comes back, along with Christian Bale. His wife is killed along with other villagers, and he flees to another village. They decide to fight rather than trek across the desert to Aleppo, where the Ottomans want to exile them. This leads to the famous siege of Musa Dagh, the rescue by a French fleet, and the drowning of the girl as they are about to reach the French battleship.

So basically that's the story. It's plausible, well acted, and serves as an emotional entry to the horrors unfolding around them. As in Dr. Zhivago, the love story is necessary to tell the story-- otherwise you would have something like a boring fictionalized documentary. The historical facts seem accurate, despite our Turkish friends' protests. It's well worth your time and money.
252 out of 418 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great history
adamrushtg29 March 2017
Absolutely fantastic film, great history behind it and the actors and actresses play their roles with such passion. Definitely states a lot about the Ottoman Empire times and a lot of history behind many cultures who are still strong in growth as of today across the world. If you are interested in seeking a film that will pull you into the screen and get lost in suspense of disbelief then this is the movie of the year that you should invest your time into watching with no distractions.
152 out of 247 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Although sometimes slow, still a "must see".
roytennant29 March 2017
I saw this movie at the Sonoma International Film Festival, and although I felt like it could have been edited tighter, it was an amazing story that I'm glad that I experienced. The acting was great, the period costumes and sets were flawless, and the story that it told was heartbreaking and needed to be told. I doubt there was a dry eye in the house (my wife and I certainly cried).
123 out of 198 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A powerful love story amid the atrocities of war
nandorueda12 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I had the fortune to attend the World Premiere of The Promise at TIFF and let me tell you, if the sustained standing ovation was a clear sign for the film's reception, then you can imagine how good the film is.

With titles like Hotel Rwanda under his belt, Terry George is one of the few directors with the right sensibilities to handle themes of genocide with the right level of prudence and attention to detail required. With The Promise, he absolutely does not disappoint.

The whole cast is simply wonderful but wow I want to talk about Oscar Isaac. I consider him to be a gift to film. He is perhaps one of the only men in Hollywood who can play "ethnically ambiguous" characters appropriately and gather attention. From what I've heard so far, the Armenian people think he actually seems Armenian. Oscar's charm jumps off the screen once more, but his performance also captures the character's raw suffering. More than once I got chills from the anguish presented, that's how good this guy is.

I am curious to see the degree of backlash this film will receive, given how the government of Turkey has not recognized the genocide; although, I believe Turkish people should give this a chance. It also shows how there were Turkish heroes and victims caught up in the atrocities of war and they are not the real bad guys here: war is.

The Promise may not reach Hotel Rwanda's level of emotional response and the film's length may discourage some, but its historical importance, remarkable performances and beautiful photography make it a title worth watching.
376 out of 642 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Amazing must-see film
larafudge23 March 2017
This film hits so many themes and is so moving and kept me engaged the whole time. It does a great job of shedding light to this time in history and has a great story line and actors.Shot with a beautiful backdrop and vibrant characters, it was both very entertaining and emotional to watch. Would 100% recommend. Bravo to the director and producer, truly an amazing piece of work!
158 out of 266 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Clearly an actors' movie and can be appreciated even if you don't care about history
Kapten Video17 May 2017
What madness is this? I just arrived from cinema and although the summer season has begun they showed me a movie which is not: • some random French or Russian comedy, • a sequel, • a prequel or at least origin story • an animation, • based on YA novel or comic book… • based on a novel or non-fiction book or some older movie • there's not even any superheroes or mutants in it, ferchrissake! Set during the last days of the Ottoman Empire and their attempt to wipe out as many Armenian people as they can, at its heart there is a love story – two guys (Oscar Isaac, Christian Bale) want the same girl (Charlotte Le Bon). The Turkish government would never allow a movie like this to be filmed on their home territory – it's said that the Turks have never acknowledged the genocide or their role in it. So it was all filmed in Spain, Malta, Portugal and USA. It has a big budget of 90 million USD and that money is well spent. The movie as a whole looks old- fashioned in a good way: majestic and poetic, also a bit nostalgic for the past „simpler times". The story is also old-fashioned in a good way, which is to say the approach is populist – clearly black and white, we always know who the good and the bad guys are and nobody's choices are never questioned in broader context. But this kind of approach is not a problem when we have three leading thespians so able as Isaac, Bale and Le Bon. They put every nuance of the material to efficient use. "The Promise" is clearly an actors' movie and that's how it can be appreciated even if you personally do not care about that part of history. Some of the scenes with strongest dramatical impact are done even shortly and without any words, just a quick look, pause, and they move on. „The Project" never dwells long on anything happening on screen, there's so much story to give and absorb in the 132 minutes it has. And yet thanks to competent direction and superb actors, it never feels rushed, there's always enough room for important things and people in the context of the story. I especially like the action scenes which are actually pretty small in scope, compared to most war dramas produced today, but it never feel that way. The suspense and danger surrounding the main characters is always real. I am not trying to step on anyone's feelings and underplay the seriousness of the genocide, but it can be said that the century-old suffering of Armenians is not the most well-known of historical tragedies, especially to the general English-speaking audience the movie is produced for. So having a big budget that enormous seems kind of risky. Luckily for the people involved, the project was fully financed by billionaire Kirk Kerkorian of Armenian extraction whose family had lived through the events depicted in the movie, and all the proceeds will go to nonprofits (ie, charity). A fun IMDb fact to end with. „The Promise" premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival last September, but before the audience even left the theater, reviewers suspected to be Turkish government- sponsored trolls had submitted ca 4,000 negative ratings. That number quickly multiplied before the movie was released. Maybe that's why the IMDb score is pretty low, 5.9/10. All in all, it's a competent and confident movie from all involved. Even the main man behind the screen, the co-writer and director Terry George is not randomly chosen. His earlier magnum opus is acclaimed and Oscar-nominated „Hotel Rwanda" (2004) about mass murder of Tutsi people in 1990's Africa. So it's like his second shot at the epic making glory in Hollywood. Here's hope the movie doesn't disappear unnoticed… although not having superheroes or even mutants is clearly a misstep!
33 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Its about time the truth is coming out of the Armenian Genocide
ginagawron18 March 2017
Very proud there is a movie coming out about the Armenian genocide. My great grandparents survived this genocide and went through hell. It is a shame that the Turks are brain washed and in denial about something so cruel their people did. I also noticed a lot of those in denial are making horrible reviews to sway people's opinions to see the movie. Just horrible. Go see the movie for yourself to see the TRUTH!
166 out of 299 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Oscar worthy
lorin-m12 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This movie premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival yesterday and today was the second screening, to overwhelming crowds. What an amazing, mesmerizing production, phenomenal acting. The crowd relived the agony of the Armenian people and felt like they were part of the events in the movie. The movie absorbed the audience by the sad events, love stories and the sacrifices of the people and transported us back to 1915. Bravo to the director and the entire cast for being part of history to make the whole world be aware. The director, the movie and the entire cast is Oscar worthy. History is repeating itself today in Syria because generations of people were lied to by their governments. Education is key ... not ignorance. Open your eyes and see what a handful of dreadful people did to those living on their own land.
256 out of 495 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A dramatization of the first genocide of the 20th century.
Dennis R. Papazian27 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
My wife, the president of San Jose State University, and I were fortunate to see this film at a festival in our hometown, San Jose. It played to a full house and a discussion followed with the director of the film. Years ago, in the 1920s, an attempt was made to make a film on the Armenian genocide following Franz Werfel's powerful book, The 40 Days of Musa Dag. As many know, the salvation of a small band of determined Armenian survivors were saved from the Mountain of Moses (Musa Dag) on the Mediterranean coast by a French warship.

Ihe salvation of the persevering few was an inspiration to the Holocaust resistance movement in Nazi occupied Europe and copies were passed around from one cell to another.

Unfortunately, the film was never distributed due to the collusion of a frightened, anti-communists State Department fearful of losing Ataturk to the Soviet sphere and a determined Turkish government to deny the "murder of a nation," as the US Ambassador to the Ottoman Empire, Henry Morgenthau, term the Armenian genocide, a word to be invented later by Rafael Limpkin to suit the Armenian case.

Turkish denial of the Armenian genocide continues to this day and the government of Turkey spends millions of dollars every year to hire lobbyists to influence American thinking. The thousands of negative votes on this film currently under consideration should be a dead giveaway that the Turkish government is once more active in trying to prevent the distribution of a film on the Armenian genocide. Furthermore, the Turkish government currently sponsored a film, The Ottoman Lieutenant, which gives the impression that all of the people of the Ottoman Empire in Anatolia suffered equally.

The Promise is an excellent film bordering on greatness. I urge people to see it and judge for themselves.
79 out of 143 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Exceptional movie!!!
Arthur Hovsepian13 September 2016
I had the honor and privilege of seeing The Promise at the TIFF and have to honestly say that this movie was exceptional on many fronts. It is a must see for anyone that loves historical epic movies. The movie is beautifully written, directed, produced and all of the actors did a fabulous job taking the audience through their trials and tribulations of the characters that they were portraying. It depicts a charming love story whilst also shining a light on human rights, dignity and freedom that was denied to over 1.5 million Armenians during the Armenian Genocide in the year 1915. I encourage everyone to go and see this movie when it comes out in theatres as they too will be moved as much as I was and hopefully the take away message will be that factual history cannot be denied and should teach all of humanity to never let it happen again.
199 out of 389 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Brilliant : A must watch for 2016
raph071112 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I watched this film in Toronto during the TIFF yesterday and had rarely been so moved by such a story. I am a French cinema lover who has always been touched by this terrible event of history (although I am not of Armenian descent) that has now happened more than 100 years ago and that is still denied by, in my opinion, too many people.

After watching "Mayrig", (a beautiful film about the same subject matter made by Henri Verneuil ; one of the greatest movie makers in French cinema history) many years ago, I was hoping that other movies on the Armenian Genocide would appear on screen, especially bigger productions which could come out of Hollywood and have a huge impact on people's beliefs about the first Genocide of the 20th century.

And now I'm to glad to say that my dream has finally come true. Indeed, the film lasted more than 2 hours and I don't remember having blinked a lot. I was so impressed by the cinematography, the editing and the music (not to mention the acting performances) that I couldn't see why I would give this movie something else than a 10. No words can really explain how I felt when the movie was over. After watching it, you can fully recognize that Terry George and his team did a wonderful job and that this masterpiece deserves to sit at the forefront of the Academy Awards.

I highly recommend you not to be influenced by the current ratings that have probably been given by angry Turks and Azeris who still deny this horrible truth. I encourage you to report those comments that intend to ruin the reputation of the film.

Other thing I recommend you : Do not miss this film
228 out of 453 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Absolutely brilliant!
johnsonmmapleleaf12 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Terry George has a history of tackling difficult subject matter, making it entertaining, and "The Promise" did not disappoint! I was fortunate enough to watch it at Roy Thomson Hall on its opening night, and the emotional roller coaster I rode on was worth all of the attempts to secure tickets. This was my first festival gala, and it is definitely worthy of my first review.

The film is an epic, sweeping love story set against the backdrop of the Armenian Genocide. Michael (Oscar Isaac) and Chris (Christian Bale) compete for the love of the sophisticated Ana (Charlotte Le Bon). The lead and supporting actors deliver memorable and moving performances, and Marwan Kenzari - in the role of the humanitarian Turkish Emre - steals several scenes in the film. The family story-line, led by Michael's mother (Shohreh Aghdashloo), sets the stage for the drama later in the film. The film brilliantly weaves the love story, the historical atrocities without explicit violence, and the action and suspense of the films of yesteryear - only with actors who are absolute heavyweights and who also play superheroes.

Although I wished that the film could have been a bit more detailed about the historical circumstances, it is just not likely to ever happen in 2016 for a commercial project like The Promise. The film received a thunderous ovation from the crowd, standing for several minutes with applause into the credits, and the film definitely fulfilled its "promise." People are going to be talking about this film for a long time.
193 out of 384 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Captivating Armenian Genocide Flashback Wrapped Into Stunning Personal Storyline and Adventure
Gary Harut13 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I was lucky to be present during second screening of "The Promise" at TIFF on Sept. 12 in Toronto. The fact of being media producer and professional screenwriter for the last 10 years of my life provide me a firm ground to state that this movie is a Piece of Perfection. If you are looking for a superb, beautiful, and moving adventure based on historical facts, "The Promise' is a MUST-SEE!

During somewhat above one hour the Director and Actors in front of your eyes unfold and call to life historical setting of World War I, ethnic cleansing of Armenian population from their lands, and the death agony of the sick man of Europe - Ottoman Empire. And all this is being told on the background of a true romantic drama that conquers your hearts from Constantinople to Western Armenia, from Tokyo to LA, from Moscow to Paris.

I extend my deepest gratitude to everyone who participated in this project.
164 out of 326 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great film-a must watch
david-116112 September 2016
I had the opportunity to see the film during its world premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival. Going into the film, I had some misgivings regarding the love triangle aspect of the film. Luckily this was not a Michael Bay film and it was handled appropriately. I suspect the love story was created to make the film more accessible to audiences.

The film is at times intense and emotionally draining with the horrific backdrop of the true life events of the Armenian genocide. The inclusion of some humor and romance provides sometimes much needed levity with such a difficult topic.

Great performances all around but no one shines more than Oscar Isaac as the Armenian, Michael. It was disappointing to not to see more actual Armenians in a movie so entwined with the Armenian people. Of course Christian Bale is not American but plays one as he often does. Despite all of this, the actors and director created an emotionally engaging film. For the record, I am not Armenian but the film still resonated with me.

While I have not yet seen Terry George's most critically acclaimed film Hotel Rwanda, I am now confident he was a great choice to direct. I only hope that this film gets the critical acclaim that Hotel Rwanda did, as it certainly deserves it. If you get the chance to see it, please do so.

P.S. Don't be fooled by the inordinate amount of 1 out of 10 ratings. Hundreds of these were already posted before I even entered the rush line to see the movie in its first public screening. It's disappointing that people have to be so disingenuous with something as trivial as an IMDb rating
177 out of 358 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A heartbreaking, educational film everyone needs to see
Zina Ahmed17 September 2016
To start, this is not as heavily focused on the love triangle as other reviews make it seem. It is just taking you though the journey of these three characters who have a side story of loving the same woman.

As a descendant from Turkey I was hesitant to see this film at TIFF but I'm so glad I did. It did just what the director intended: to make the audience feel the slightest pain of what the Armenian people felt. The main focus was on the many ways the Turks systemicly killed the Armenians and where it lead the characters.

Between the beautiful directing, locations, cast and script, this was most definitely one of the best films I've seen. Please go watch it when it comes near you!
115 out of 228 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
with the Armenian genocide as the backdrop a great love triangle is born.
sciguyto12 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This is an amazing movie that needs to be seen! A love triangle set amidst the Armenian Genocide. Men who forget their history are doomed to repeat it, and that is why this is a must see. The reason we have refugees is because they are fleeing some place that is horrible. This movie tells the story of the Armenian genocide. Terry George has the uncanny ability to make you learn your history and whilst being entertained. The Turkish may try to suppress this movie but I will do everything in my power to promote it.

LOVELOVELOVE, great acting, great story, great direction. Taking in refugees makes us a HUMANE society; we live in a country who take them in, let's try and keep it that way.
163 out of 331 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A love story set in Turkey before and during WW1, in the context of the Armenian genocide carried out by the Turkish government against their Armenian subjects.
Simon16 September 2016
I saw this wonderful movie earlier tonight at TIFF (Toronto International Film Festival). The movie and the director received two standing ovations from the large audience, one at the start of the Q & A, the other at the end of it. A great historical drama and love story.

The vast majority of those giving this film low ratings did not see the film (only a few thousand people have seen it so far, as of the end of September 16, 2016). The reason the vast majority of them are giving the film low ratings is because they do not want people to go to film that is in part about the Armenian genocide carried out by the Turkish government during WW1. Don't be fooled, this is a great film that everyone should see.
100 out of 199 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Armenian genocide story with love story and devastation
jonathankplee11 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I just finished watching this at the TIFF Film Festival at its premiere gala. I found it surprising good story line about the massacre and genocide of the Armenian by the Turks. They do advise that it is a fictional story (including the made of love triangle).

I like the love triangle between Oscar, Ana, and Christopher as it keeps some hope and interest as you see the devastation of genocide and war. But what people don't know is the movie has very little of Christian Bale in it, as he a reporter and has a minor role which is good. He didn't ruin the story, said his lines and contributed to the movie but didn't interfere with it.

Oscar goes through everything and is a survivor, but if you think this is going to be a happy Hollywood ending or true love find each other, then wrong movie. That doesn't happen.

Ana, I think is one of the best characters and is part of the love triangle and she makes it seem real. Probably the best out of all three main actors. She is beautiful, portrays the sense of innocence, deeply in love and willing to help people, and you want her to be happy and survive, but war and genocide doesn't let that happen.

Not too sure why its a 4.3 because I was the first to see it and paid $100 for the premiere. I found it pretty good.

P.S. If they shot Christian Bale in the first 30 seconds for being a drunken idiot, probably wonder have made no difference in the movie! Ana didn't show up for the premiere and Christian Bale didn't do any Q&A, so waste of my $100.
142 out of 293 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews