Ninja Turtles 2 (2016) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
195 Reviews
Sort by:
6/10
Go Go Technodrome.
thisseatofmars14 October 2016
Mindless, superhero, brain candy, zoom. Bad jokes, great effects, explosions go boom.

My neck muscles are tighter than piano wires and I've sweated enough this week to fill a swimming pool. At the end of a long week of mad work, sometimes you just want to sit down and switch off your brain.

So, thank you, turtles. I like it when you hit stuff.

Is this a dumb movie? The obvious answer is yes, of course it's dumb, it's more superhero schlock: kiddie-fare enjoyed by 30-somethings.

But I don't know. Any fight scene with martial arts is a bit like a magician's sleight of hand. It's too fast to follow completely, but if done well we can see sophistication in the movement, and a fight is a bit of a story in itself. There's the setup, escalation of conflict, then boom, resolution. The best parts of this movie are not of the turtles talking but when things go all smashy-smash-smash. Smash.

Smash.

Where the film drags is with its human characters, who have way too much screen time. Casey Jones is a 30-something who talks like a 12-year-old ("Someday, I'm going to be a detective!") and Shredder, regrettably, is mostly without his mask and doesn't throw a single pie. Megan Fox is wearing less makeup this time around, but in "acting," less is more. Baxter Stockman is likable, but doesn't turn into a giant fly.

But it's inoffensive, fun to look at, and a nice thing to shut your brain off to while recovering from a long week of sweaty haste.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Disappointing and dorky
Miko4 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I was pretty disappointed with this movie. My disappointment started off with April needing to download some information from this scientist but she has to follow this other guy to get close enough. Well, she could have just followed behind him nonchalantly, but no, she has to put on this skimpy school girl outfit while walking and pretend to be part of this other group of cheerleaders or something. Well, her pants seem to just magically disappear in one scene to the next. It was pretty pointless and senseless, and it was just a scene to say, hey look how hot she is.. groans. Which brings me to my next point of how terrible Megan Fox's acting is. They just seem to throw her in there for mostly eye candy and nothing else. Why do they keep putting her in movies??? But it doesn't stop there. The entire movie was well, dorky at best. The pace was a bit fast even though the movie was really long. Also, how the hell did Donatello access an alien spaceship and get the name of the leader?? That doesn't even make sense. The language would be completely foreign and, well, too alien to even decipher if it were even able to connect to it somehow. Also, there isn't enough rhino or pig DNA in us to make a pig/man or rhino/man, it's just not possible. Nothing in this movie makes sense. This movie is just too kiddy and cartoony but even the original cartoon series made more sense then this crap.

I decided to give this 5 stars because it has good graphics and is kinda funny sometimes. If all you are looking for is cheap thrills and cool CGI action scenes, then you may enjoy this. But if you like a movie with substance, look somewhere else.
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
TMNT 2 Out of the Shadows honors the "cartoon spirit"
Kevin Tan5 June 2016
TMNT 2 is silly and flamboyant enough to work as a live-action cartoon movie. It embraces its crazy plot (the story operates in a world where mutant turtles have been taught martial arts by a mutant rat, 'nuff said). However, the film suffers a lot of what we can call "convenient circumstances" — unaddressed plot holes are deliberately ignored by forgetting events and characters being conveniently placed at locations to advance the plot without explanation whatsoever. Also, it may be nitpicking but there's no attempt to explain how these turtles become experts in crafting CIA-level tech.

The level of humor in this film is clearly catered to a young audience. For adults, you may get a healthy dose of nostalgia if you were once that kid who were really into the cartoons, otherwise you'll find the script stale. The fun interactions between the brothers are still present but what gives them more depth here is when they start to experience teenage anxiety – issues of belonging and identity. I'm keeping it vague so as not to spoil anything, but yes, they actually have a subplot this time! Sadly, things aren't sustained as the film rushes through, ending it in favor of a big climactic action sequence.

Speaking of action sequences, the movie never strays away from the basic Michael Bay blockbuster formula (he's the producer, of course): over-the-top CGI-heavy destruction, one action set piece after another. If the first TMNT movie offers a fun-filled chase down a snowy mountain, the most adrenaline-pumping action sequence here starts with skydiving and ends with a waterfall jump. The film also takes the liberty in ripping-off previous blockbusters – a retrofitted garbage-slash-war truck (Mad Max), a via inter-dimensional sky portal alien invasion (The Avengers) and a police car chase/prisoner escape scene (The Dark Knight and Fast and Furious). And as if to acknowledge the debt, Raphael mutters to himself, "What would Vin Diesel do?"

Remarkably, there is an improvement in the CGI department, more specifically with the look of the ninja turtles – less gritty, more friendly-looking. The voice actors are not to be faulted in giving better distinction to their characters' personalities –the leader (Leo), the muscle (Raph), the brains (Donnie) and the wild one (Mikey). And just to make sure that viewers won't be confused again, they are re-introduced twice in the film (which is odd). Megan Fox, as the main human protagonist, however still fails in-I can't believe I'm about to say this- effectively engaging the audience. She fares better as an anti-hero or villain (Jennifer's Body). Her sex appeal is even pushed to a breaking point during an inexplicable costume change scene to a sexy school-girl outfit to keep the males awake. Will Arnett's character Vern, sidelined as an comic-relief is a good choice for he does little to advance the plot. Stephen Amell obviously got the role of Casey Jones due to his physical work in "Arrow" and the fact that they needed someone equally attractive as Fox. He does his best, especially in action scenes, but him joining forces with the turtles is rushed and poorly done. Shredder, recast with Brian Tee, returns as a human and not some sort of a transformer is still lackluster as a villain. Super-villain Krang who looks hideous and remotely realistic could've better served with a more fleshed-out backstory. Of all the villains, arguably the comical mutant duo, Bebop and Rocksteady, steal the show.

There is no doubt that Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows is better in nearly every way than its predecessor. It is turtle-focused and it re-wires the franchise to the right direction. I am not all "Cowabunga!" for this sequel (the plot still rots my brains), but if you're looking for two hours of frothy entertainment and 'Bay'-esque action sequences are your guilty pleasure, bring some pizzas because you're in to a one (s)hell of a ride.

Full review: http://goo.gl/xoNRno
52 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Soul destroying drivel......
FlashCallahan25 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
It was inevitable that the sequel would be imminent out within a couple of years to keep the memories of the first film fresh in people's minds.

But my memories of that film were of this reboot being a complete waste of time, but with a decent set piece involving snow, and nothing more than a Michael Bay produced cash machine with no soul.

The turtles face a new challenge when Shredder escapes from custody and joins forces with Baxter Stockman, a mad scientist who plans to use a serum to take over the world.

Along for the ride are Bebop and Rocksteady, two dimwitted henchmen who provide plenty of muscle.

Luckily, the turtles have their own allies in April O'Neil, Vernon Fenwick and Casey Jones, a hockey-masked vigilante......

As the pizza-loving heroes prepare for battle, the notorious Krang also emerges to pose an even greater threat.

And this time it's pretty much the same, apart from the fact that there isn't a decent set piece in its ridiculously long running time, in fact, you'd be hard pressed to call this a actual film as it has not coherence, no narrative, it just goes from one place to another, and for a film focusing on giant Ninja Turtles, it's one of the most boring experiences I've had at the cinema this year.

It's a CG nightmare, with soulless, hate worthy characters spouting and idiotic script to lifeless looking CG characters with attitude.

It's as if Bay has just made one long commercial for toys, cars and clothing, and we've had to pay for the pleasure.

But Bay has really outdone himself with this one, it's actually worse than Age Of Exhaustion, and by looking at the box office for this, people are becoming tired of his action movies.

Really, if you were a fan of the Turtles back in the day, seek out Secret Of The Ooze, at least it has Vanilla Ice in it.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
The sequel that nobody asked for...?
Drumavarium4 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
First of all I guess most people didn't ask for a sequel of TMNT, come on. Or at least, no one was excited about another one. But if you decide to produce/direct a new one, why is this a copy/paste from other movies?? Was it necessary?? The sound effects are EXACTLY THE SAME from all Transformers movies. And also they called Jablonsky for the music, which of course is EXACTLY THE SAME from Transformers. And the best and most innovative idea: "a portal". LOL! Looks like the portal must be a cast member from these type of movies. New ideas? Anyone? Michael Bay, I assume you were too involved, stop doing this. Lack of compromise and a bunch of lazy people have produced/directed this movie, which as you see, wasn't necessary.
18 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
This is not even a movie to watch when sick.
sethtrickshoot8 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
You know the feeling. Fever and ill. You think OK, lets watch some easily digestible movies. I choose the two new Turtle movies. I was pleasantly surprised while watching the first one. It actually was pretty true to the original comic even it it wasn't as dark. Then this one was up. And what an awful followup. i actually regret wasting my time watching this.. and i have the fever! For crying out loud. Why... i mean.. Shredder isn't even a big part of this movie. In the first he is a skilled warrior and in this he is but a legman.

No this isn't OK. i don't want to live in a world where the Twilight saga is a better alternative then the Turtles?

What happened? I was actually going to watch batman vs Superman now, but i cant take any more crap. I don't care how bad ass you are. if you see an alien who wants to strike a deal with you about world domination then first give it more then 2 secs of thinking time. seriously. Was this movie written by an 10 year old?? Oh yeah i guess so. its a Nicolodian jam! Thank you for destroying yet another childhood IP.

Spoiler warning: This movie sucks!

/Seth Out!
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Absolutely entertaining.
michaelarrens5 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
One year after their battle with the Shredder, the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles still live in the shadows, having allowed Vern Fenwick to take the credit for Shredder's defeat. When Shredder is being transferred between prisons by corrections officer Casey Jones, his Foot Clan–operating under the direction of scientist Baxter Stockman–attack the convoy transporting him. The Turtles, tipped off to the escape attempt by April O'Neil, fend them off. Stockman is still able to affect Shredder's escape using a teleportation device, but Shredder is hijacked mid-teleport and winds up in another dimension. There, the alien warlord Krang gives him a mutagenic compound in exchange for his promise to find three components of a machine Krang sent to Earth in ages past, which when united will open a portal to his dimension.

Shredder recruits the two criminals that were being transported alongside him, Bebop and Rocksteady, and has Stockman use Krang's mutagen on them to transform them into powerful animal mutants. The snooping April witnesses their transformation, and is able to steal the vial of mutagen. Pursued by the Foot, she is unexpectedly saved by Casey. In the scuffle, the vial is lost and taken into police custody. Donatello deduces that the mutagen could be used to turn the Turtles into humans, enabling them to live normal lives above ground, but Leonardo refuses and insists that he keeps it as a secret from the others. However, Michelangelo overhears their conversation and tells Raphael. Rapheal furiously confronts Leonardo for not telling them about the Retro mutagen and being honest with them, which results in Leonardo benching him and Mikey off the mission. Raph then recruits Mikey, April, Casey, and Vern to break into the NYPD police headquarters to recover the mutagen. But the Foot arrive ahead of them and in the ensuing battle, the Turtles' existence is revealed to the police, who react with fear and hatred. The brothers escape, but April and Casey are arrested.

With Shredder's forces having already recovered two of the pieces of the portal device, the Turtles track Bebop and Rocksteady where they have recovered the final piece from a jungle in Foz do Iguaçu at Brazil. The Turtles intercept their jet on its return journey via a plane-to-plane skydive, and although the resultant battle crashes the jet, Bebop and Rocksteady are still able to successfully escape with the final component. The Turtles return to New York just in time to watch as Stockman and Shredder complete the portal device and open the gateway to Krang's dimension, through which his modular war machine, the Technodrome, begins to emerge. Krang immediately betrays Shredder, freezing him and locking him away with his collection of other defeated foes.

The Turtles see no way to combat the threat from the shadows and must decide whether or not to take the mutagen and become humans in order to fight openly. Leonardo finally agrees to do as his brothers wish, but Raphael shatters the vial, realizing that they must accept who and what they are. Vern recovers security footage that proves Stockman and Shredder's crimes and secures April and Casey's release, allowing them to facilitate a meeting between the Turtles and police chief Rebecca Vincent. With the acceptance and blessing of the police, the Turtles go into action, confronting Krang aboard the still- assembling Technodrome. Meanwhile, Casey keeps Bebop and Rocksteady busy while April and Vern defeat Shredder's lieutenant Karai and take control of the portal device. Once the Turtles locate the beacon around which the Technodrome is assembling, they hurl it back through the portal, taking Krang and the rest of the Technodrome with it, and April, Casey, and Vern shut the portal down, ultimately defeating the alien, but not before Krang swears he will return for revenge.

The Turtles are honored by Vincent and the NYPD, but elect to keep their existence a secret from the public at large, deciding that being normal isn't nearly as fun as being a turtle.
87 out of 171 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A review from a 11 year olds point of view
harispmkhan2 June 2016
I am one of the first people to review this movie, so I decided to give this review from a different age perspective, I myself thought it was a boring story,with similar tropes from other movie, and it felt a sense of déjà vu as we ended with them fighting on top of a building.

Yet in this review this opinion doesn't count, I have asked my nephew to tell me what he though, I will not be changing any of the points he made, only to make sense in the context.

He started of with him shouting "THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER" once I asked him to elaborate he stated,"The turtles looked so realistic, and the action was actually pretty fun, yet I did not like how they sacrificed parts of the story to cut down the running time, and second have the last fight a little longer, yet all in all it was great!" I then asked him ' What would you like to rate it out of 10?' He said boldly "10 out of 10!"
64 out of 132 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Awesome – even more so the more I think about it!
Kellyanne Lynch4 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
As long time TMNT fans, my sweetie and I loved this movie! It explored a theme I haven't seen in the comics, TV series, or other movies – what they would do if given the chance to be human. This rougher, tougher, more intimidating look for the Turtles fit in quite nicely with this subplot. The police initially saw them as monsters. That hit Michelangelo particularly hard. You could see how badly he wanted to fit in. His moment in the Halloween parade reminded me of Quasimodo joining Topsy Turvy Day's festivities in The Hunchback of Notre Dame.

That's precisely why Leonardo wanted Donatello to keep it a secret that the purple ooze could be reverse engineered to make them human. And they couldn't tell Raph for the very reason they witnessed once he discovered the truth. He's a loose cannon. His and Mikey's plan put April and Casey in jeopardy.

I like these versions of the human characters. April is smarter than in some version and is braver than in most. She was blond at the beginning and is usually brunette. Will we ever see her as a redhead? I questioned Casey being so clean cut initially, but this is a smarter, more focused Casey Jones who is still a Looney Tune with a bad temper. That scene in the bar proved that was really Casey.

Vernon was better in this movie than in the last. He was the self-centered glory hound he was in the original TV series, and there was much less of him.

The humans had their place in the movie, and I'm glad they took a backseat to the turtles. In the last movie, the people were a bit too prominent.

Bebop and Rocksteady were a fun addition. I love how Casey considered whether they would be stupid enough to go to their old hangout after breaking out of the police van and said, "Yeah, they are," just after I said it. The movie held true to the characters while modernizing them. Their idea to form their own foot clan and move up to "a leg clan" was hysterical, as was their resolve to no longer be errand boys breaking within a minute of their declaration.

I love the messages in this movie. Being an outcast sucks. People hate and fear what they don't know. Mikey's expression when he said he saw hate in the people's eyes when the police chief called them monsters was heartbreaking. The Turtles considered being human but learned not to change who you are to fit in. The turtles were the only ones who could save Earth, because their biological makeup allowed them to get close to the Technodrome whereas humans couldn't. So good they didn't turn human! The movie taught not to write off anyone based on first impressions. The police and the Turtles gave each other another chance. The Turtles learned people could come to accept them, and the police saw they weren't monsters.

The brothers also learned that appreciating each other's uniqueness and playing off one another's strengths is how to save the day, not expecting everyone to be the same. Leo's frustration and cognitive rigidity was so me, but he came around and learned that lesson too.

There were so many great scenes that were just plain fun, like the Turtles watching the Knicks game – especially the spit balls and pizza. And when they all said what they had that others don't, and Raph exclaimed, "Garbage truck!" instead of, "Turtle power!" That still makes me laugh out loud. And that TMNT theme at the end that blended the original TV series theme song with "Ninja Rap". I bought it on iTunes.

I watched part of TMNT II: Secret of the Ooze last night on DVD upon returning home from the new movie, and I saw parallels between both sequels. In both Secret of the Ooze and Out of the Shadows, Shredder is back, and he creates two mutants of his own. TGRI / TCRI is prominent in both. The Turtles enlist the help of a crucial human ally – Casey in Out of the Shadows and Keno in Secret of the Ooze. I wonder if that was all intentional. And "Ninja Rap" is in both movies too.

Oh, and the Easter eggs in this movie! Kevin Eastman is the pizza delivery guy, and when Mikey snaps up the pizza and drops off the payment, he calls out, "Thanks, Kevin!" Donatello and all his gadgets were so original series – especially the purple turtle face that appeared on the wrist device he made for April. Hints of the original TV theme song were throughout the movie, the best being when they honked the horn of the garbage truck, and it was the tune of Heroes In A Halfshell. That part makes me smile just thinking about it. And, of course, that medley at the end! It was so awesome that I mentioned it twice. And Casey telling the police the Turtles came from New Hampshire. They really did!! And then, of course, Krang and the freaking Technodrome screams original series! I love Casey's realization that the Turtles were the ones who saved him when he saw the trash truck. He sounded out of his mind when telling the police chief about the Turtles in a garbage truck that shot manhole covers – another nod to the original cartoon.

Great movie overall! Lots of fun for longtime fans, lots of action and humor and the Turtles being four teenage brothers. We loved it!
33 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
They are the Turtles - what more needs to be said
pablospersonal21 June 2016
Heroes in a half shell....(wait for it) TURTLE POWER! TMNT: Out of the Shadows is awesome, just plain awesome! Okay, I am slightly biased. I have been a fan of the four, shell laden mutants since I was 4.

However, the first movie disappointed me. It lacked that little something, flavour possibly? Earthly comedic value? I don't know, but I didn't come away from the showing feeling like I had seen something that was justifiable to the franchise.

This movie was different! It is childish with an adult feel. The script is well prepared and executed. Cinematography and special effects are on a par with brilliance.

What makes this movie great is the paid homage to old characters that we have come to know and love. Bebop, Rocksteady, Baxter Stockman and Krang - are all introduced in this sequel. The writers have really thrown their eggs into one basket and it worked. So very often, screen time and plot can suffer because of character introduction and the subsequent make up of their involvement within the walls of the story. However, this did not hinder the movie one bit. The characters were introduced and spaced well. Dialogue was fluid and the script flowed well enough to keep my attention.

Fox was her ever sexy, sleuthy self as April and the Turtles were, well Green and Mean. (Michaelangelo is still the steal of the performances). The story is thick with old and new method, it is great for the older fan of the franchise and superb for the new fan.

The action is mixed well with underlying emotional out play. The one liners are directed well and the overlay of tense if predictable moments are enough to make you want TMNT OFTS play on.

If there was a "bad" egg in the movie, it is Stephen Amell who plays Casey Jones. It is not that I think he is a bad actor, but he isn't Casey Jones. He seems stiff and unresponsive to the rest of the cast, I wasn't feeling that old Casey Jones appeal with his portrayal. Elias Koteas encapsulated the essence of Casey in the very first live action picking way back in the early 90's. It was his feverish, awkward charm and humour that worked well with the lovable vigilante. Amell just didn't portray that. He wasn't endearing enough - hopefully this may change if they do number 3.

Overall though, the movie is well worth a scope. Yes, it is ridiculous. Yes, it cannot be taken seriously. Yes, it is about 4 mutant turtles saving the world from a giant pink piece of hubba bubba.

But it is the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. The movie itself does not take its own self seriously. It is alive with humour, fast action, gizmos and gadgets, sci-fi aliens and ships, April O' Neill, one liners and all the turtling you can handle.

It is a must see. I dare you not to enjoy it! A rare movie that fits into the category of Sequel being better than Original. This should have been the first movie in the rebooted franchise.
18 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Screw the haters! This movie is awesome!
Matthew Gange3 June 2016
I just came back from seeing this movie at the cinema with my grandma & we both think that the movie is super great!!!!

It has lots of awesome action & a lot of hilarious scenes throughout the movie!!!

I started off with the 1st movie from 2014 (my grandma actually recommended this movie to me). It was good. But this movie just got a whole lot better! :)

And the end credits have the original TMNT song from the past (which is remixed)! It was a nice rap song!!!!

I recommend this movie to everyone, including TMNT fans (I am one of the fans of TMNT).

To all the haters of this movie: SCREW YOU!

Anyways, my rating for this movie is over 999 billion/10!

I can't wait for more TMNT movies! I hope for more TMNT movies! :)

Oh, & the Turtle Tactical Truck, 1 of my favorite movie vehicles, (shown in this movie) is awesome! I wish this truck exists in real life.

I also like the movie since the movie focuses more on the Turtles themselves.

For the 5 best scenes in this movie (my personal favorites/opinions), they are:

the scene where the turtles fight Krang

the opening scene

the parade scene

the scene where Bebop & Rocksteady become animals

and for the 5th & last one...

the part where the Turtles jump off the plane! I can't get enough of that one! XD

Thank you Dave Green, especially the cast & crew for making a great sequel to a rebooted franchise! :)

'This movie just got a whole lot better!'
37 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Cowabunga!
Rooster-Reviews30 May 2016
TMNT 2: Out of the Shadows is a return to form for the turtles in a half shell, delivering a "radical" film full of energy, humor, and of course, pizza. This movie has a lot riding on it. Not only does director Dave Green have to right the wrongs of the first movie, but on top of that introduce new characters to the mix. First let's start with the positives. The actors playing the turtles shine again, playing off of each other brilliantly, making them all distinct and likable characters. Bebop and Rocksteady are great additions to the series,and feel pulled out right of the 80s cartoon. The CGI design and quality is noticeably improved, and the action sequences are well shot and fun to watch, especially one involving a Brazilian river and a tank. Megan Fox thankfully isn't given as much screen time as the first one and becomes a good side character that helps out when the script calls for it. And I have to mention the Kraang. They absolutely nailed it. Brad Garrett did a good job even though Pat Fraley is still my favorite. My only complaints are I wish the movie was longer, which would of helped give the film more room to breathe. I also felt Casey Jones and Shredder weren't used to their full potential. Despite this, I still found a ton of fun and respect towards the original 80s cartoon, and ask you to give this 2nd outing a chance, because nostalgia aside, this is, in my opinion, the first great TMNT movie. Grade: B -Rooster Reviews
30 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Gets Better With Each Viewing
ratvision31 May 2016
I will start with the good. The turtles are in this right from the start, there is no twenty minute wait before we see them and they are prominent throughout the film. The four turtle actors were given so much more to work with and they really flesh the turtles' characters out. Pete Ploszek, Noel Fisher, Jeremy Howard and Alan Ritchson are perfectly cast as the turtles. As a turtle fan, they for me are the best thing about the film, which is how it should be.

The tone of the film is a lot clearer than the first one, where they weren't sure whether to be fun or dark and gritty so went for a messy combination. Out Of The Shadows definitely stands on the fun side of the turtles.

This is all the more evident with the first (finally!) film outing for Bebop and Rocksteady. Again, excellent casting with Sheamus and Gary Anthony Williams. Both clearly relish their roles, play off each other extremely well and are as mean and stupid as their cartoon counterparts. Megan Fox is more capable and likable as April O'Neil than I think most people would expect, but then again, I think that's due to the fact that the writers have made sure that as a character, April believably holds her own. Stephen Amell does well in his first outing as Casey Jones and I look forward to his back story and character being expanded further in any future outings.

We also get to see Krang's first movie outing. Now he wasn't to my personal taste but I think overall his look and demeanour will please Krang fans. He's very... krangy.

The bad: while the movie is action packed from start to finish, sometimes it does feel like you're endlessly hurtling towards the finish. And this is possibly because there's so many characters, both new and old, that are vying for screen time (made worse with the pointless cameos within the film). Shredder in particular suffers from this quite a bit. He never really gets an opportunity to be truly dastardly. Karai does get 'a' moment but when you consider her potential as a strong female character as seen previously in the franchise, you get the feeling she's quite wasted here. I also (and I mean no disrespect to Brian and Brittany) never really saw the need to replace the original actors with the new ones when this film is supposed to follow on from the first one.

Finally: the film is faithful to the franchise with nods to past and current generations of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and the team obviously had a better picture of what they wanted to achieve here. The story line is clear and there is a neat finish, but is left open for a sequel. And it does get better with each viewing. Seen it twice so far and plan to go again.
26 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Really fun with energy and humour
new_beginning-606592 June 2016
Honestly I do not care at all what the critics think because I thought the movie was a (s)hell of a ride the whole way through. The turtles were fantastic, along with everybody else! It payed homage the original 80's turtles in so many ways! I would recommend this movie to all the fans of the franchise and to just be optimistic, let out you're in inner kid and enjoy. The only thing I want... is more! I want a third installment but I want them to start making it a little darker but keep it's humour. I would also like to see Casey Jones become a full on "lunatic vigilante" by getting the long hair and cut sleeves and banging bad guys out with not only his hockey stick as well. If we can't see the turtles slashing apart the foot soldiers then maybe Baxter can create robot foot soldiers like the 80's cartoon. Everybody go watch Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of The Shadows in the theater, drive in if possible, either way Go see the movie it's a fun ride!
36 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Much Closer to the TMNT we love!
veggiedude11 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I remember being very excited for the first TMNT reboot. The CGI models for the turtles looked great, It was made by Nickelodeon, and the trailer brought back nostalgia. Then i went to see it and i was like, "Ehhh." It was by no means terrible, it just wasn't GREAT. The plot was recycled from The Amazing Spiderman, the shredder wasn't a compelling enemy, and.. well, Meagan Fox. I did enjoy the turtle's characters and was hoping for a sequel with a better story. And, more or less, that's what i got.

It was by no means perfect, as it was still Michael Bayed to the max, but it provided enough nostalgia, good story, good action, and great characters to keep you entertained the entire movie. Megan Fox's performance was improved over the last film and so was Will Arnet's. The character of Casey Jones was well done and was my favorite character in the movie. The CGI was improved from the last movie and the turtles were even more lovable.

The best improvement by far was the villains. Unlike the first movie the villains were fun, cool, and compelling. Shredder's character was greatly improved with a cooler and more original outfit. Also Rocksteady and Bebop were well done and were very funny. It was nice to see the Foot Clan using swords instead of guns. And Finally, the surprise appearance from Krang was excellent as he was my favorite enemy in the original cartoon. His design was great and he looked awesome.

Then, Just as the movie ends, you get a rock and roll version of the original theme song during the credits that was so epic! It was a nostalgia trip!

I would highly recommend this movie to anyone. Keep up the good work Michael Bay, this may be your best work yet.
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
fair
WoodBangers Entertainment24 September 2016
Okay…. So we broke down and watched Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016), we didn't have high hopes in the beginning as the trailer and of course the previous film; but we did give it a shot.

Now before I begin this, I want to point out that I know it takes a ton of work and a lot of people working to manage this type of films; especially all of the cgi involved as most of this film is in green screen with a ton of outsourcing to do all of the art to save funds; and it shows in the film. Let's begin…

We didn't go to the theaters to see Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016), for two reasons the first being we were way too busy, and the second it wouldn't have held our attention as upon watching it that was proved true. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016) is not a bad film, it's fair; they just got completely sidetracked trying to piece the real actor scenes in with the created animated work that the glitches show so much it is hard to watch. If I were around the age of 10, this film may have been more enjoyable as it did have that cartoon vibe to it, and of course the Turtle scenes was more like watching the intro videos and cinematic within a video game.

As for the acting, well Megan Fox was put in the Jennifer's Body look again to help keep the eyes on the screen as they spent a lot of time putting her in outfits to keep that going on. Her acting was the same as in every film; so much that you could tell if it were transformers, Jennifer's Body, etc; but she did do well with what was going on. As for the rest of the acting, it was so-so; Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016) looks as if all the money went into the art department, Megan Fox; and what was left went into putting the pieces together to make a film.

The story itself, well.. Truthfully they did follow the basic Ninja stories and there isn't quite much that could be done so of course it was up to part; other than the many spots that the story just skips a beat throwing in stuff that didn't belong or well… you'll see if you watch it.

For the hard work that went into the art department we give this film 3 stars
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Turtle Power!
Sandra-durand807 June 2016
Cowabunga dudes!! I loved the movie! It was awesome. It kept me on the edge of my seat! It was extremely funny and not to mention unpredictable. It has a wonderful cast and the acting was phenomenal in my opinion. I love my Ninja Turtles... :-) They were adorable! If you're a Ninja Turtles' fan and you haven't seen the movie, then what are you waiting for? Go and watch the movie! I give this movie a big 10 !! What else can I say? Everything I wanted to say about the movie without accidentally adding spoilers has been said, but I need at least 10000 words to document my review. Okay, I hope I fulfilled the 1000-word review. So, yes, go and watch the movie. Why are you reading my review at this point? Go! Watch the movie! Thank you and have s good day. :)
32 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Enjoyed This Way More Than the First Reboot Film
3xHCCH1 June 2016
The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles began as comic book characters in 1984, later spinning off to have its own cartoon series, toys, video games, and of course, films. There was a cartoonish film trilogy in the 1990s. Recently, Michael Bay produced a franchise-reboot as a live action-computer-generated motion capture film. I did not particularly like this very dark 2014 film, rating it only a 5/10. When trailers came out for this sequel though, I already saw that it looked like it was going to be a way better movie than the first one.

The turtle heroes, along with old pals April O'Neil and Vern Fenwick, and new friend Casey Jones, spring back into action as Shredder was busted from incarceration. The arch-villain had inter- galactically nefarious plans as he conspired with mad scientist Dr. Baxter Stockman to bring into Earth an evil Dimension X being called Krang and his Technodrome in his wild dream of world domination.

The way the turtles looked in this new film was way better executed. In the first one, they all looked too big, ugly and unwieldy. Their appearance now is more accessible, more in tune with their personalities. Even if the storyline will have their team tested, this was a truly excellent ensemble work among the four actors behind them, imbuing each one with individual charm. They are: Pete Ploszek (as conflicted leader Leonardo), Alan Ritchson (as muscle- bound rebel Raphael), Jeremy Howard (as brainy scientist Donatello) and Noel Fisher (as childlike spirit Michelangelo).

Also similarly excellent were the CG artwork, performance and the on screen chemistry between the two comical evil side characters, warthog Bebop (Gary Anthony Williams) and the rhino Rocksteady (Stephen Farrelly). They definitely stole their scenes from right under the main bad guy Shredder (Brian Tee), who felt rather lackluster among the other colorful characters of the film. The pinkish brain-like maniacal alien super-villain Krang was portrayed with gruesome glee by Brad Garrett.

The unconvincing and hammy acting of Megan Fox (as April) and Will Arnett (as Vern) were fortunately buoyed up the excellence of the CGI and story around them. Tyler Perry was an over-the-top nerd as Dr. Stockman, uncomfortably funny. Veteran acting nominee Laura Linney was uncharacteristically stiff as police chief Rebecca Vincent. The best live performer of the film was TV's "Arrow" Stephen Amell as Casey Jones. His graceful physicality (with a hockey stick and skates) and smart-alecky sense of humor made him stand out.

The look of this new film is so much better than the first one, literally "out of the shadows" where the first one wallowed. There were brighter colors, a lighter mood, a more fun throwback general feel about it. The previous one was too dark and intense, and took itself too seriously, to its own detriment. With this one, we had our beloved Turtles back to the unpretentious way we knew them in our youth. Serious critics may be hard on this one, but I really enjoyed 112 minutes with it, right up to the classic TV cartoon theme song over the closing credits.
23 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Michael Bay's anal reign continues
origin_mehr31 August 2016
Michael Bay's asshole has no bounds or limitations. It continues to crap on all the good things in this world. Not even our memories from our childhoods are safe from his reach. Thank you MB, for ruining yet another movie that could have been great. This film is so ridiculously idiotic I'm at a lack of words on where to begin or what to say. It makes no attempt whatsoever to be good or thoughtful in the slightest. I know 40 year old stoners living in their mothers basements on welfare that could have written and directed a better TNMT movie than this clown. If you enjoy disappointment, tragedy and the feeling of suicide because your childhood memories have been butchered by a talentless prick, then grab that popcorn cuz you're gonna love this.
19 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
What good fan service looks like
Zac Schar5 July 2016
It's great when a movie gets what its suppose to be. This is the dumb fun movie of the summer, which has some good laughs, OK action, and never takes its self seriously. Unlike the first Ninja Turtle movie, which was considered one of the worst films of the year.

2 years after the Ninja Turtles stopped Shredder's attack on New York City Shredder escapes his prison transport. With the help of Bebop and Rock Steady Shredder gets ready for the arrival of the alien brain Krang, The Ninja Turtles have to step "out of the shadows" to save New York again with help from Cassey Jones.

This is what good fan service looks like. The characters look and act like there suppose to, especially Bebop and Rock Steady. It is amazing that they made them look like they did in the cartoon as oppose to a more gritty and realistic like the transformers. The story is a fun not to serious ride, that feels like a marvel movie as oppose to a Dark Knight. The acting of course isn't anything to write home about, and I'm starting to wonder if Will Arnett owes someone money. Seriously he seems to be in everything now. I can't recommend this movie enough but, a word of warning if you were never a fan of the ninja turtles. This probably isn't the dumb fun summer blockbuster for you.

For more great reviews go to the distractionattack.com
19 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Review from a parent
chulwinik-629494 June 2016
Go Ninja, go Ninja Go! My kids (5-7) had a blast during this movie. My son was especially excited about this sequel, and I walked away fairly pleased myself. However, it is clear from the start that this is a kids movie. This is not an adult super hero film, like TDK or Man of steel. If you came for solid plot, continuity, and clever dialogue, you came to the wrong film. However, if you want to have fun with the kids, and willing to accept a different interpretation of the Turtles, you will have a blast. And there was just enough nostalgia in this move to make me happy. I am already looking forward to the next one! This sequel is a definite improvement in that we finally see more of the turtle; from start to finish. Unlike the first movie, my kids were not bored watching Will Arnett an his poorly written antics. The turtles a present throughout, and the kids enjoyed all the random special effects that are typical of this producer.

As a note to parents, there is a slight bit of cursing in this film, but literally, two to three curse words. Not a big deal for most, but if you have little ones, you may want to know. My wife was happy that there was a lot less gun play in this movie than compared to the first. But don't get me wrong, there is still plenty of explosions, crashes, and hard hits in this movie. This is not a slap sticky movie like the Turtle movies of the 90's My only complaint is that I wanted more Beebop and Rocksteady. It seems clear that they were added later on during the film's production, which leads them to have very few interactions (fights) with the turtles. If sequels are still being planned, I really hope that add some more mutant fights. Otherwise, we were all very satisfied costumers.
22 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A So-So Popcorn Movie
griffolyon1225 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
As a fan of the heroes in a half-shell, I guess I'm just gonna have to accept that this is about as good as this iteration of the Ninja Turtles will get. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows is better than its 2014 reboot, but only by a teeny bit.

Out of the Shadows finds the turtles trying to stop the evil Shredder from bringing an alien from another dimension to Earth in order to take over. Along the way, the turtles make a new ally in Casey Jones (played likably by Stephen Amell), go toe-to-toe with two new mutant minions of Shredder (the fan favorite characters Bebop and Rocksteady), and may have run across a mutagen that could potentially turn them into humans.

There is a lot going on here and it's actually a miracle that the movie makes sense for most of its runtime. While there are a few plot holes here and there, there are none quite as gaping as the multiple ones that the first movie had. On top of that, there are some genuinely thrilling action sequences in the movie, with the standout one involving the turtles in their tricked out garbage truck trying to stop Shredder from escaping the 18-wheeler that is transporting him to a different prison.

When it's all said and done, once the original Ninja Turtles theme song plays over the end credits, you realize you actually had fun with Out of the Shadows. While neither of the two movies in this particular iteration match up to the first two Ninja Turtles movies from the Nineties, Out of the Shadows will entertain.

I give Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows a 7 out of 10!
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Nice Movie
miakhalifaoffice1 June 2016
Canelo: There is a difference between wanting and doing. "On Saturday night, we will see who will give who a boxing lesson. "I want to thank all of my fans for the support. I am very honored to be celebrating on Cinco Mayo, and I hope to put on a great show on Saturday night. "I'm training hard for 12 rounds. I'm ready to go all of those rounds, and if the knockout presents itself, I'm ready to take it."

Amir Khan : "Mentally, I have prepared by praying, being with my beautiful family, and the support from my fans. Even though Cinco Mayo is a Mexican holiday, we are going to see a lot of British flags come Saturday night. "This is a huge fight, as Canelo [Álvarez] is a star in Mexico and America. I know I'm here as the underdog, but I'm ready to win and take this WBC belt back to my home in England. I wouldn't have taken this fight if I didn't think I could take it. I have trained for everything and worked on my speed and my power. watch more airtvlive.com
21 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Turtle Power!
bgeraci-098525 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Well, I am a long-time fan, saw the first movie, and was so pleased that in the current outing we got to see a lot more Turtle Time for the guys. After all, that's what makes a TMNT fan, right? Leo, Donnie, Raph and Mikey. The guys were up close and personal in this movie, and if you had never seen anything to do with TMNT before Out of the Shadows, you knew what made each Turtle tick by the end of the movie. Mikey's in-a-nutshell description of him and his brothers to the shell-shocked Casey Jones (upon their first meeting) was perfect! Bebop and Rock Steady were gross and ridiculous (as intended to be), the Krang was nauseating (as intended to be), but what happened to the Shredder? That was the only drawback for me. He was small and seemingly not the threat in this movie as in the first, not even one fight scene between him and the Turtles. Still, I loved the movie, all the action, the gags and pranks, even the somber moments when poor Mikey realizes after a confrontation with NY police that he and his brothers are more than mutants to others - they are monsters to be feared and hated. I got to say, my eyes got a little misty when Mikey's were wet with tears of pain. If you didn't notice it, catch Leo's reaction to Mikey's distress as Master Splinter tries to comfort him. Since Mikey is the youngest, all the other brothers protect him (this happens again in their fight against Krang). If you like non-stop action, fun, and stories where the good guys win, you'll love Out of the Shadows. Grab you a coke and popcorn and go. This movie has heart and soul. I think you will agree - the world needs more of that.
23 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Original Turtle Power
RISKY SMITH10 June 2016
A new and improved production that goes intergalactic and defines the space time continuum. This film relies on the echo of our past generation who biked without helmets and stuck gum under tables as a calling sign of youth. There is a driven focus on settling the score of the first failed attempt at re-branding an empire of comic book genius. We are witnessing a continued revival of old cliche's hash tagged and packaged in cellophane. So the mind will ultimately compare and contrast, though this sequel is what every fan has dreamed of. Pick it apart if you choose, all you're doing is ruining your only chance at bodacious awesomeness. Make sure to have pizza on hand in the first frame of the film so you can join in on the party!
20 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews