Jumanji: Bienvenue dans la jungle (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
227 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
9/10
Just plain Fun!
dontpanik9 December 2017
We went to see this as part of the early screening for Amazon Prime members. I always worry that all the funniest parts of a movie are spoiled in the trailer leaving nothing left in the film. That isn't the case. I was either smiling or laughing the entire movie, as was the rest of the theater. Is it Citizen Kane? No. Was I going to the theater wanting to watch a drama that delved deep into the characters' lives? No, again.

Our 4 heroes are sent to detention where they discover and are consequently sucked into Jumanji. They become the avatars they chose for the game and must complete the object of the game without using up all their lives. They have to work together, as a team. It is so much fun. It's predictable, funny, cute and the most important, entertaining. The actors are great in it, including a few cameos that were unexpected.

The humor isn't too crude, but still slapstick-y and funny. It was along the vein of Shrek, Rat Race, or Clue. Again, if you're looking for deep and can't stand watching a movie without questioning everything, skip this one. This is one of those movies I'll be buying just so I can put it on and laugh.
70 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Well done
Jack C24 December 2017
We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of this remake. The jokes are nonstop and witty. Characters are well fleshed out with each person playing a physical opposite of their persona outside of Jumanji. A little homage is paid to Alan Parrish at the beginning of the movie, and the movie continues, 20 years after the events of 1996.

The Rock is always fun, but shines as a scared nerd with no confidence. Karen Gillan is adorable as the socially awkward nerdy girl. Jack Black playing a self obsessed popular girl is laugh out loud funny. Kevin Hart as a shrunken jock with many assigned weaknesses is classic.

All in all a nearly perfect family comedy that rises above lowest common denominator humor. Worth the trip to see it on the big screen. You do not have to see the original to appreciate it.
32 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Very, very fun and worth your time!
regula18 December 2017
The original Jumanji was supposed to be a one-and-done film, even though it teased the potential for a sequel. Many voiced trepidation at the prospect of a sequel after all these years later, and after the tragic death of original star Robin Williams, there were valid concerns about whether this sequel could be both a good movie and a fitting sequel and tribute to what had come before.

I am glad to report that it fulfilled all expectations.

The film relies almost entirely on its star power, and it has that in spades with the likes of Dwayne Johnson, Kevin Hart, Jack Black, Karen Gillan, and Nick Jonas. Where the charm resides, though, is the actors playing against their types through the means of real-world to video game body switching: The Rock embodying a nerdy hypochondriac, Hart an all-star jock, Gillan a shy insecure reject, and perhaps most brilliant of them all, Black housing a she's-all-that pretty girl. Together our four teenage protagonists get sucked into the video game incarnation of Jumanji, a jungle land that is threatened from the typical video game threat, and our heroes must do the usual video game tasks in order to beat the game and return to the real world, all without getting killed in-game, which will get them killed in real life after three lives.

The film thematically treads the same sort of ground that other teen movies tend to cover, mainly the stereotypical high school tropes get thrust into a situation that forces them to work together to correct each other's flaws and by the end they return to their 'normal' lives as better people.

What the film does different in the body-switching is that these tropes are transferred onto adult actors, people who each have tropes of their own, and the way that each actor gets to play against their type is definitely what makes this movie so fun.

On the flipside, like a video game, the villain is very one- dimensional, and while the narrative isn't necessarily harmed by it, it does stand out as something that's lacking, wishing that the villain was more than just 'I will kill you because reasons'.

Also, the character introductions in the real world at the beginning of the film feel very forced, as in we all know they end up in the game, and the reasons they get into the situation feel very convenient, as if the writers could not find an elegant means to get these four people in the same place in front of the game console at the same time, so they just threw them all together.

These are fairly minor nitpicks, as the pace of this film is fast, it doesn't really drag at all, and while they do repeat a joke or two, it doesn't step over the line into annoying. All this makes for a very fun film, definitely worth your time this holiday season, and after once it gets released on home media.
51 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle (2017)
rockman18222 December 2017
The original Jumanji is a nostalgic film from my childhood. It still held up when I rewatched it earlier this month. The effects aren't the greatest but the film was fun and had a lot of heart. I was not one of those annoying people who had pitchforks out when they heard about Jumanji being rebooted or getting a sequel. Always give a film a chance, that's what I do. After seeing promo pics and trailers I was hyped. I like The Rock and Kevin Hart working together, and also love Karen Gillan. The film looked like a fresh spin on the original and even looked like an effort that wanted to stand on its own. It does exactly that. Say what you want, this is a very fun film.

Four different teenagers are given detention and once there they discover an old video game named Jumanji. They plug the game system in and are sucked into the world of Jumanji, primarily in a jungle where they must return a jewel into an enormous Jaguar statue. Sounds easy, but the jungle is filled with tricks and traps and wild animals. Oh yeah, the four characters become the characters in the game physically. This makes for a very entertaining time with almost non stop humor on top of its adventure.

The actors do very well in this. Jack Black and Kevin Hart bring the comedy. Jack Black's character is actually the embodiment of a self absorbed teenage girl, and he plays that remarkably well. I dig Kevin Hart with his loud commentary. I also love that he's always getting knocked over thrown around, in the way of danger, or in this films case- explodes. All the humor in this film comes at you tenfold and it all works. The story keeps you on the edge of your seat and, while somewhat predictable its never boring. The action scenes are gripping and grand scale. I loved the world of the film and the connection between the characters.

The film has a few nods to the original but the film is still quite independent from the original which is nice. Really its in name alone; the connection to the first. Overall, its a blast at the end of the year. Its a re-watchable and exciting comedy/adventure. Take off your critical lenses and actually sit and enjoy this. The negative things I'm reading about this are analyzing it on such a deep level. Dude, relax and enjoy.

8/10
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Lots and Lots and Lots and Lots of Fun!
Movie Paradise22 December 2017
All of the performers are fantastic in this film, and are perfect fits for their roles. The group dynamics are excellent, and they all have hilarious back-and-forths with each other. Some of my favorite moments in the movie are when everyone is simply standing around talking. Dwayne Johnson really shows his comedic talents here. While he does have a few scenes where he gets to show off his action chops, most of his role is comedy-heavy, and he delivers on it. Kevin Hart plays the same character he always plays, and more times than not it annoys me, but for whatever reason here it works. Maybe it's his chemistry with the other actors, but he's hysterical in this movie. I'm not a huge fan of Karen Gillan's character of Nebula in the Guardians of the Galaxy films, so I wasn't sure how she was going to be in this. But she delivers as well. Not only does she nail the action beats (and she has some of the best in the whole movie), but she also has some great comedic moments, comedy that I didn't know she could pull off as well as she did. But the true star of this movie is Jack Black. I thought he was hysterical in the trailer, but I was afraid that the concept of him actually being a teenage girl would get old and annoying quick, but it doesn't. Black is perfect for this role, and nails every comedic moment he's given. They are all fantastic together, and it makes for some great entertainment...
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Nice sequel! Better than my expectation
Misstumbler22 December 2017
I actually come to watch this movie with low expectation. I watched 1st Jumanji and it was really great (and I watched it a couple times). The sequel is a little different with it's successor, with the theme is still same, a game that involved real adventures to it's player. Four teenagers sucked into the game, and they become a character they chose (which is very different from their real life). The movie is so funny, and if you played RPGs game you will find this really entertaining. The humour is still suitable for young audiences, so it's a family movie too. And while it's a humour adventures movie, it still have a good message. So I really recommend it, hope you'll enjoy it too.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The Game Always Finds a Way
Thomas Drufke23 December 2017
Perhaps unsurprisingly, Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle is easily the best video game movie ever made. Everyone who follows movies even remotely knows that's not a hard task to complete, but Jumanji earnestly gets that title from me by being self-aware, armed with charismatic performances, and an undeniably fun and energetic tone from beginning to end.

The second pairing from Kevin hart and Dwayne Johnson comes as way of a sequel to the classic 1995 film, Jumani. Instead of just rebooting a beloved film 20 years later, this installment does feel like a standalone film, but in more than one way, it honors the legacy that began with the Robin Williams led film in the 90's. What better way to do that than get The Rock and Hart to team-up again for an adventurous action-comedy. Their chemistry, along with Karen Gillan and Jack Black are quite the team. Luckily, the film doesn't rely too heavily on Hart and Johnson's funny banter from Central Intelligence last year. Each character had their own arc and I didn't feel as though any one particular character was put in the background.

Did I approve of all the character choices and humor? Certainly not. Jack Black is a naturally funny guy, but I wasn't too fond of his portrayal of a popular teenage girl. All of the characters are stereotypes obviously, but for some reason that character rubbed me the wrong way. Gillan on the other-hand, was much more in her comfort zone than it seemed like she was in the Guardians films. Her range of playing a scared and vulnerable young woman to be a "dance fighting" bada** was a joy to watch, and playing off of Johnson may have even superseded Johnson and Hart for me.

Like everyone else, I was very skeptical of this film for the last few years. What was the need to go back and try to recapture the spirit of the first film? Well, they reinvented the wheel without replacing the entire car. Using video games instead of a board game seemed like a cheap trick, but it ended up being the best decision the franchise could have made. Where do you go from here? Well, it now seems the possibilities are endless. In all, a well-rounded cast, endless energy, and a little heart go a long way with this one.

8.6/10
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Exciting and Fun but it's not Jumanji
Peter Francis Travis Leong10 December 2017
Jumanji 1995 has many memorial moments for example: The reveal of the Jumanji board, monkeys robbing a police car, the stampede, sinking floors, the flooded room with some crocodiles, the incredible use of the sound track, basically a lot of stuff. The original is well crafted and now it's 2017 and we have Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle. It's a fun, action comedy film with really cool references to the first film but as much as it entertains me it's not Jumanji. As Robin Williams said "I've seen things you've only seen in your nightmares" but in this film the jungle is safe enough to make margaritas and have scented candles on display. Dwayne Johnson tries to play a geeky character but he still plays that big tough guy. Kevin Hart plays himself nothing new, Karen Gillan plays a geeky shy girl and she has done that before and finally the highlight of the film is Jack Black playing as a teenage girl named Bethany. Everything Jack says is incredibly funny and will leave you falling off your seat. Like I said before it's not Jumanji, 6.5/10.
49 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Fantastic movie!
sahadat-5313820 December 2017
Really enjoyable movie! The movie is well paced, great cast, great action sequences. I think this is a must see movie, for all the family.
20 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Killer Movie
Ishaan_Bhatnagar1 January 2018
Jumanji killed the viewer with its boring and but obvious elements. The script is not interesting at all, useless punches to make comedy, unnecessary CGI and Visual Effects. The villain of the movie and the different levels of the game (if considered so) should have been worked upon. Gaming Industry brings you a wide scope of adding elements of entertainment and this movie seems to be a nothing more than a coin gamebox. The Rock fans are going to applaud his appearance but we have already seen him doing helicopter stunts previously. This movie is not worthy option to be viewed in cinemas.
20 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
The most fun you can have with Jack Black.
bob-the-movie-man21 December 2017
In 1995, Joe Johnston ("The Rocketeer", "Captain America: The First Avenger") directed "Jumanji" - a quirky, fantastical and dark film starring the late, great Robin Williams that got a rough critical reception at the time of release, but was embraced by the public and has gone on to be a modern classic. So when it was announced that a sequel was in the works 22 years later, my first reaction was "Oh no... is nothing sacred?". It's fair to say that I went into this flick with extremely low expectations.

But I have to say that - given this low base - I was pleasantly surprised. It's actually quite a fun fantasy film that I predict that older kids will adore.

Initially set (neatly) in 1995, a teen - Alex (Nick Jonas, of the Jonas Brothers) unearths the board game Jumanji where it ended up buried in beach-sand at the end of the last film. "Who plays board games any more?" he scoffs, which the game hears and morphs into a game cartridge. Cheesy? Yes, but no more crazy than the goings on of the first film. Back in 2017, four high-school teens - geeky Spencer (Alex Wolff, "Patriot's Day"); sports-jock Fridge (Ser'Darius Blain); self-obsessed beauty Bethany (Madison Iseman); and self-conscious, nerdy and shy Martha (Morgan Turner) - find the game and are sucked into it, having to complete all the game levels before they can escape.

But they are not themselves in the game; they adopt the Avatars they chose to play: Dr Bravestone (Dwayne Johnson, "San Andreas"); Moose Finbar (Kevin Hart, "Get Hard"); Ruby Roundhouse (Karen Gillan, "Dr Who", "The Circle"; "Guardians of the Galaxy"); and Professor Shelly Oberon (Jack Black, "Sex Tape", "Kong"). Can they combine their respective game talents - and suppress the human mental baggage they brought with them - to escape the game?

There was a really dark time-travelling angle to the storyline of the original film - the traumatic start of Disney's "Flight of the Navigator" was perhaps also borrowed from the concept in the book by Chris Van Allsburg - and an attempt is made to recreate this in the sequel. The first film rather pulled its punches though in favour of a rather Hollywood ending: will this be the case this time?

The film delivers laughs, but in a rather inconsistent fashion - it is mostly smile-worthy rather than laugh-out-loud funny. Much fun is had with the sex change of Bethany's character, with Jack Black's member featuring - erm - prominently. The characters all have strengths and weaknesses, like a game of Top Trumps, and this also entertains. But the most humour derives from the "three lives and it's game over" device giving the opportunity for various grisly ends, often relating to the above referenced weaknesses.

Given the cast that's been signed up, the acting is not exactly first rate although Karen Gillan shines as the brightest star. But "it's not bloody Shakespeare" so ham-acting is not that much of a problem and the cast all have fun with their roles. Dwayne Johnson in particular gets to play out of character as the 'nerd within the hunk', and his "smouldering look" skill - arched eyebrow and all - is hilarious. Rhys Darby, looking so much like Hugh Jackman that I had to do several double takes, also turns up as an English game-guide in a Land Rover, and Bobby Cannavale ("Ant Man") is Van Pelt, the villain of the piece.

There has been much controversy over Karen Gillan's child-sized outfit. But she is clearly a parallel to the well-endowed Lara Croft, and young male teens didn't play that game for the jungle scenery! She is meant to be a hot and sexy video game character, and man - does she deliver! Gillan is not just hot in the film: she is #lavahot. This makes her comic attempts at flirting lessons (as the internally conflicted Martha) especially funny. Hats off to her stunt doubles as well, for some awe-inspiring martial arts fight scenes.

Fans of "Lost" will again delight in the Jumanji scenery, surely one of the most over-used film locations in Hawaii if not the world!

Where the film gets bogged down is in too much cod-faced philosophizing over the teenager's "journeys". This is laid on in such a clunky manner in the early (slow!) scenes that the script could have been significantly tightened up. And as I said above, the script - written, rather obviously, by a raft of writers - could have been so much funnier. Most of the humour comes from visually seeing what's happening: not from the dialogue.

Directed by Jake Kasdan (son of director and Star Wars/Raiders screenwriter Lawrence Kasdan) it's really not half as bad as it could have been or as I feared, and I would gladly watch it again. For it's target audience, which is probably kids aged 10 to 14, I think they will love it. And, unlike many holiday films, the parents won't be totally bored either (especially the Dads, for the obvious misogynistic reasons outlined above!).
26 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great Movie. Go see it already!
scott-8244322 December 2017
Fun movie for family. Silly at times with decent action and interesting people. If you are a guy wanting to bring wife/girlfriend to movie you'll both walk out feeling you got your money's worth then this is a great pick. It won't win any fancy awards but best movie in theaters right now.
17 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Total dreck
soogi2 January 2018
What a waste of my time and money. I should've trusted my instincts about the trailer and clips to not to set foot in the cinema watching this crap. Unfunny recycled jokes, lame story and kindergarden level villain. Jumanji suppose to be exciting, emotional, funny and a little scary, but this movie failed to achieve none of it. The screenwriters probably wrote the script in the bathroom on toilet paper and forgot to wipe with it their ass. Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart are from now on my official kryptonite. Arnold S. had more charisma than both of them together. Even Jack Black who I dig, gave a goosebumps level performance.

Robin Williams is probably turning in his grave.
24 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
One of the best action films I've seen in a while
Davis P31 December 2017
I'll start out by saying that my family is a really big fan of the Robin Williams/Bonnie Hunt Jumanji movie, I personally thought it was alright. Nothing great, but not bad either. I went into this movie with my doubts about it's quality. One, because I wasn't the biggest fan of the original, and two because I was fearful it would just be another generic action romp. I was WRONG. This is one of the best action films I've seen in some time, and there are many reasons as to why this one works so well. Reason number one: the casting. This cast is just perfectly put together. Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson really was great in the lead role, one of his best performances in my opinion. Kevin Hart serves as the ever hilarious comedic relief, and he did a fabulous job of making the audience laugh their asses off. Jack Black is really great here as well, very funny, really the best middle aged man in Hollywood you could pick to play as a teenage girl stuck in another body. And lastly, Karen Gillan and Nick Jonas give fun entertaining performances. The acting is a big plus for this movie. Reason number two: the writing. The script allows for many things: comedy, action, and some serious stuff too. Funny lines for the comedic heavyweights and more touching/sweet content for when it's called for. And finally, reason number three: very exciting action and effects. The action scenes are done well and achieve the level of excitement that they are going for. And the visual effects are top of the line as well. Overall, this is just a great film overall, and it even gave a small harken back to the original 90s film. Great lovable characters, exciting action, skilled writing... just a joy overall. 9/10 for Jumanji: Welcome to the jungle.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A thoroughly entertaining evolution
Josh Barton9 December 2017
Jumanji is a film I grew up with so it'll always hold a place in my heart. It's by no means the greatest film ever made but it is a film I never thought would need a sequel, the very idea being a product of the lazy Hollywood cycle. To do a sequel to Jumanji, you have to be brave enough to evolve the franchise and not just rehash it all, which is exactly what they did with Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle.

When four teenagers get sucked into the video game Jumanji, they become their chosen avatars; Dr Smolder Bravestone (Dwayne Johnson), Professor Shelly Oberon (Jack Black), Franklin Finbar (Kevin Hart) and Ruby Roundhouse (Karen Gillan). Together they must play along and finish the game to stand any chance of getting back home.

The evolution of Jumanji from board game to video game is one of the sensible ways that the creative team bring us a sequel two decades after the original was released. It's the only way the kids of today would ever play it so to see the game itself change to attract new players makes sense. The idea of a sequel after all this time is one that left me skeptical however, thanks to a changed concept of the story taking place inside the game rather than the game coming to the real world, Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle quickly became a sequel to become interested in.

The changed concept is one that leads to a good old-fashioned adventure romp full of action and plenty of fun for the entire family. The idea of the kids being sucked into the game and being forced to play it out as characters totally opposite to their everyday selves makes for an amusing watch, the raucous laughter from the audience being a telling sign.

No one is having more fun here than the four leads of the film mind. Dwayne Johnson, Kevin Hart, Jack Black and Karen Gillan all make Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle such great entertainment; Johnson milking it while playing a nerd trapped inside the body fit for an action movie star, Hart revelling in the big guy trapped in a small guy's body role, Black stealing the film as the Instagram obsessed girl playing as an overweight professor, a role he seems so suited for, and Gillan bringing the fierceness when she needs to as Ruby Roundhouse a.k.a. the "Killer of Men" which, as you've guessed, is so far away from her character back in the real world. You get a sense that working on this set would have been so much fun.

Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle works as a continuation of the Jumanji franchise, even if there are people out there who are adamant it won't. It's the perfect kind of film to take the family along to and I can guarantee fun will be had all round. It was much better than I was expecting and I'm ready to call it the biggest surprise of the year.
31 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Awesome, just awesome!
vengeance2023 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Heard about another Jumanji Film being made, but thought it was going to be a remake of sorts. Well, through years of development it seems to be more of a different take on the 1995 classic! And a good take it was!

Starting at 1996, a young man finds a "board game" on the beach after hearing the iconic "jungle drums" sound emitting from the box partially covered in sand. Like the original, he finds it, takes it home with him, & then finds out it's an Nintendo like game & plugs it into his console & starts playing, he gets sucked in & is trapped in the game, similar to the original, but as a computer games console, not a board game, interesting take.

So fast forward 21 years later, & 4 young teens who all come together via detention play the game & get sucked in after finding it in a store room in the school. It's then they find themselves in different bodies & each have 3 lives like that of a computer console game. They then learn of the curse of the jungle via a green jewel & must place it back where it was & shout "Jumanji!".

The film I thought was pretty good! Of course it wouldn't be nearly as good as it's counter back in '95, but it's pretty damn close to be an original & somewhat is! The story was simple & easy to follow, the characters were great & likable, Karen Gillan was a babe in this film! (sorry had to say it!), but she & the others were great! I also liked the humour in this film too! It was funny & fitted well!

I was kind of peeved it wasn't set in the real world as appose to a jungle, but I suppose it was because they were sucked into a different world so it made sense in a way, & it wasn't too bad either!

Overall this film was a good watch & matches pretty well with the original film! 9/10 Go watch it!
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Hilarious fun escapism
pal0505200319 December 2017
Jumanji 2 is a hilarious, fun, escapist, adventure movie starring The Rock, Jack Black, and Kevin Hart. Using video game rules, the movie truly brings video game magic to the screen, and subtly pokes fun at the action genre. The Rock is great as usual and has a literally huge presence in the movie. The chemistry among the cast is great, and the Rock proves once again he is the go to guy if Hollywood wants to revitalize a franchise, though he has yet to prove he can fuel an actual franchise by himself. As for Jack Black and Kevin Hart, both provide great comedy to an already comical The Rock. However, Kevin Hart's character is more interesting than Black's and therefore wins the crown for best comical character in the movie. Karen Gillan is stunning, and kicks ass, though she is not given much else to do. The movie has great sweeping shots, and over the top action, but all of this makes the movie plausible, given the premise that the characters are trapped in a game world. Recommended for all to watch
17 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
The film is exactly what you expect.
kuuk38 December 2017
Saw via an early Unlimited Screening. Its no Oscar contender, but for a comedy adventure family film; it fulfils its purpose.

None of the heroes use guns, although they do snap necks. They also show several deaths with blood splatter. So not for the squeamish. There are also scenes of bugs entering ears which can be off-putting.

The teenage high school drama and love story is cheesy, as is the school bully / loner story arc. Its nothing we have not seen before. But it sets up the character traits and once were in the Jungle, it gets a lot better.

It feels a little short, and some scenes like the Transporter Hanger was suppose to hard, but the lack of bad guys didn't make much sense. Every scene appeared to have been written to serve each characters death in turn. From eating cake to walking alongside a cliff. Trying to keep track of who had how many lives left let you predict who was going to die next.

But it was at least trying to show character growth with each plot point and establish how these people change which is something I suppose.

Removing the staples from magazines before recycling was nonsense. But that's the level of thought that had gone into the writing process. But again, its not trying to win any Oscars and is up against Star Wars in the cinema (whose stupid idea was that?) so I doubt its going to beat it at the box office.

But once were in the game, its a fun, adventure film with four strong comedic actors doing what they do best. It excelled at its goal and is worth watching on the big screen.
29 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Critics undersell a fantastic movie
alessandrowoodbridge24 December 2017
I would watch this movie two more times at least. This was a very funny movie. Arguably one of the best performance Jack Black has done. When I watched this with my family, in a packed movie theatre, I kid you not, the entire cinema was laughing during quite a few of the scenes. The humour is excellently tailored to the audience and is a beautiful tribute to the original Jumanji with Robin Williams. The way it fantastically coincides with the original movie and moves onto a sort of sequel to this is beautiful, and a rare thing these days. The movie is very funny and easily one of the greatest movies to have come out this year. It is certainly in the top 15 movies that have come out, post 2010, accompanied with the likes of Guardians of the Galaxy, Deadpool and now the recent movie that just came out, Bright. If you felt that Bright was also under-appreciated by movie critics, the exact same thing has happened here as Jumanji is a 100% gaurantee, a movie that will be appreciated after watching. Personally, I would watch it again and again with people. It is not just a movie to watch and discard, this is one to put on the bookshelf and watch again in the future. Loved it. Thank you for such a great movie with a fantastic and fun cast who clearly have great chemistry on and off the screen.
21 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A boring mediocre adventure movie filled by unnecessary joke and drama, along with bad cgi moments
hiraishinnojutsu21 December 2017
Start with a slow pace, this move gave me the same movie experience when I watched Geostorm (2017): it's so boring, that in the middle of it, I just want this movie to just skip to end credits already. even when I saw the trailer, the movie just wasn't too promising, and man, I've never been feeling so wrong when I decided to just give it a go despite the former reason. the first Jumanji movie (1995), though not a masterpiece, was at least likeable to the point that it became almost the entire today's twenty-something's childhood. This movie almost do nothing but insult that beautiful legacy by just existing as a sequel no one even asked before (almost like the female version of Ghostbusters did (2016) to the original Ghostbusters (1984), and thank god I didn't watch the former on the theater, otherwise I just banged my head to the hardest and the thickest wall many times until I felt I had unwatched it). Sure the jokes make everyone laughs (and I hate to admit that I laughed few times too), but not all the jokes are the good jokes worth laughing out loud for. I'm pretty sure some of the viewers decided to use a cringe expression to some of the jokes, especially the ones that included male's vital organ as the laughing material. The action scenes were not good either, I mean, to the overall scenes, it feels like they were sinking very deep in the bottom of the ocean in the middle of a vast sea of talking, jokes, drama, and any other kind of unimportant moments. some of the moments with the cgi (and the plot) makes me think this movie should have been made into a tv series instead of a 2-hour long movie that ends up as a one of the year's worst movie ever set foot on the big screen (though I don't think many people would like it either). so, in short, all I was saying can be put in this one sentence: not even the comedy trio Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson-Kevin Hart-Jack Black can make this movie interesting to watch from beginning to end.
30 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Could have been so much better
danjamz11 December 2017
This sequel took so long to come to fruition, the most unbelievable thing is that the writing could still be so bad. It genuinely feels like they cast the actors first, then wrote supposedly "cool and funny" scenes about them, making it feel more like a bunch of unconnected sketches and action sequences than a real story.

The main problem is that the humour seemed almost entirely aimed at the handful of young kids in my (very busy) screening, they loved it of course; but literally everyone else... silence for the entire movie. The special effects are fine and the action sequences exciting enough, but without a half-decent story to hold it together, it all feels a bit empty.

Ultimately keep your expectations rock bottom and you can probably just go along for the ride. But 22 years after the original, I would highly recommend you give the old one another try before you bother with this.
39 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Awesome fun
Takethispunch31 December 2017
Four high school kids discover an old video game console and are drawn into the game's jungle setting, literally becoming the adult avatars they chose. What they discover is that you don't just play Jumanji - you must survive it. To beat the game and return to the real world, they'll have to go on the most dangerous adventure of their lives, discover what Alan Parrish left 20 years ago, and change the way they think about themselves - or they'll be stuck in the game forever.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Go see it! You will enjoy yourself!
bettycjung1 January 2018
1/1/18. Ok, i'm going to say that this was pure fun and extremely enjoyable to watch! I can't say that for too many movies these days, but this one will have staying power until everyone looking for a fun movie have had a chance to see it! Johnson, Black and Hart were all in fine form, at their best, and Gillan was a pure surprise. I am sure we will see more of her in the future. This is truly one of the FEW remakes I can recommend to see. It's not exactly a remake-remake, but a theme in variation. I have not heard so much giggling in a theater audience in a long time, it kept ALL viewers young and old engaged. When was the last time you can say that of any movie? Go see it!
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Jumanji Promises the Adrenaline Adventure
nikhilbhalwankar31 December 2017
I watched Jumanji yesterday in 3D and I must say that movie is fully exciting till the end. Everyone has acted very well and Junanji never lets you down at any moment throughout the movie runtime. Not only the story is very well written but also the director has executed it perfectly. Dr. Smolder Bravestone and Ruby Roundhouse has done ass kicking action sequences.Whereas Shelly Oberon and Franklin Mouse Finbar has done nice comic scenes.

Overall its a great adventure to watch Jumanji. Don not miss the fun and book your tickets right away.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Enjoy the ride in "Jumanji"
Jon Ochiai24 December 2017
I really enjoyed "Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle". "Jumanji" is way more than its movie trailer. Dwayne Johnson and Karen Gillan are awesome. The Rock embodies a genuine "nerd' charm in his action hero persona. It's nice to 'see' Karen not hidden behind the Nebula visage of "Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2". I'm a fan from her short lived series "Selfie". Gillan is beautiful, beguiling, and comedic charm. Jack Black as Shelly the gender swapped avatar practically steals the show illustrating the movie's surprising message.

Game avatar Shelly, who's real life persona is "it" girl Bethany, schools now stunning Martha (Gillan) how be attractive to men. Shelly says, "You're hot. Now own it." Black offers comic relief in the video game mayhem as Shelly confesses to Smolder Bravestone (Johnson) and diminutive Moose Finbar (Kevin Hart) that having penis makes it so easy to pee. In the touching narrative arc, as their avatars in "Jumanji" Martha tells Bethany that she is so self-absorbed, consequently totally so selfish. Bethany tells Martha that she judges people first, before they have chance to hurt her.

Director Jake Kasdan surprises not so much with the light hearted large-scale action with Johnson and Gillan kicking some ass battling motorcycle villains commanded by Bravestone's arch nemesis Van Pelt, played by ruthless vile Bobby Cannavale. Rather his poignant message in this video gamer movie is: Be who you are. This is amazing given that the screenplay based on the book, "Jumanji" has screenwriters Chis McKenna, Erik Sommer, Scott Rosenberg, and Jeff Pinker. Usually having that many writers inevitably generates kluge.

Instead they are often touching. Young Spencer now The Rock's Bravestone has been in love with teen iconoclast Martha, now Ruby Roundhouse, since 7th grade. Both Johnson and Gillan are the most beautiful screen actors in paradox as Spencer says, "I'm a nerd." Martha says, "I like nerds."

Bravestone fears death realizing that he only has one game "life" remaining in "Jumanji", doubting if he can save his friends and return the magical green jewel to the Jaguar statue. His friend Finbar, played by Hart, reminds that in the real world, "We all only have one life." So do your best. That's what anyone can do. Johnson is amazing movie star swag and gentle introspection as Bravestone. Hart is nervous comic energy as Finbar. He tells someone about his avatar's weakness, "Cake makes me explode." Don't often hear that one. Hart is also all heart. Their partnership along with Gillan and Black are about seeing others as greater than they know. In the end that's what makes you become. And perhaps, the hero arises from within.

"Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle" is derivative of "The Breakfast Club" and "Raiders of the Lost Arc". "Jumanji" does not aim to be as iconic, although it is about: Who you are? Who are you going to be?

Young Spencer, Fridge, Bethany, and Martha, played convincingly by Alex Wolf, Ser'Darius Blain, Madison Iseman, and Morgan Turner, all enter the video game "Jumanji" as who they are. Perhaps, they transform as greater. Really that's up to them. Director Kasdan invites you along for the ride with cool martial arts and gorgeous locales. Go along for the ride. The ride is well worth it.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews