Le gardien du manuscrit sacré (2003) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
177 Reviews
Sort by:
Silly...fun, but silly.
TheBabblingFool7 May 2003
Bulletproof Monk has a plot like it is the Indiana Jones of martial art flicks. You have a monk that is chosen every 60 years to protect a scroll that will give anyone who reads it invincible. The film revolves around The Monk with No Name (Chow) trying to find a new chosen one (Scott) while avoiding a nazi super-villain that he incountered 60 years ago.

The film is more of a comedy than an action film and Sean William Scott and Chow Yun Fat play off each other well in a world where they are chased by nazis and run into characters like a British guy named Mr. Funktastic. Sean plays a goofy pickpocket well and Chow is excellent as a calm, smug, nameless monk...then again Chow has always been good at acting smug. Of course there has to be a leading lady and Jamie King is as good looking as they come and plays her character well.

The action all involves wire-fu, like that as seen in "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon", but not as dynamic. Since most of the characters are new to martial arts the fights are a little slow but entertaining and lighthearted none the less.

Bulletproof Monk could have been a lot better than it is, with a little more time spent on it, but as it is it is a silly amusing film, which kept me entertained for an hour and a half. I recommend it to martial art flick junkies.
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Well, I liked it!
Vicki Brown9 June 2004
I thought it was charming. I thought it was fun. I enjoyed it a great deal. I liked the characters a lot too (especially the Monk). Now I'm looking for other movies starring Yun-Fat Chow.

I must admit that I did find the underground cavern and the mysterious mind-reading device to be rather over-the-top, but that was the only part of the movie I didn't like.

Please keep in mind that this movie _is_ based on a comic book. It's not meant to be Important, World-changing theatre. It's meant to be a fast-paced (it is), interesting (I thought so), fun-to-watch (yes) story.
59 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I want a sequel! (I mean that!!)
HighlanderFan18 August 2003
Being a comics collector, I had to see this movie, since it is based on a comic book. When I left the cinema I was both disappointed and gratified, but looking back on it I found my disappointment waning and my gratification growing. This was - or rather, could have been, if it had been successful enough to spawn a franchise - a new Highlander (which is just about my favorite movie). It had all the elements. Unfortunately, it also had some bad things. That Nazis were the villains is really something I could have done without. It made the movie unintentionally comical (by which I mean laughable, not comic book-like) before it had even gotten well underway. And the Funktastic character has GOT to rate as one of the WORST things in ANY movie EVER (EVER, I say!!). But I think there was enough good stuff in the rest of the movie to make up for these howlers.

The cast indeed was very charismatic and did not feel like just another set of interchangeable Hollywood cronies. I expected not to like Seann William Scott, but I ended up feeling he did a great job (and no, I didn't see the ridiculous American Pie movies, what're you, nuts!?). Despite what others may say, I thought his kung fu was convincing, and his character actually endearing. I've never been that big a fan of Chow Yun Fat, because he's more a gangster movie actor than a kung fu movie actor, and I have no fondness for Hong Kong (or, for that matter, Hollywood) gangster movies. But as in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (which I loved and have seen many, many times), he filled his role very nicely here. Note that his superhuman kung fu was explained by his possessing the power of the scrolls; it wasn't just gratuitous. As for Jamie King, she just wowed me totally. She radiated both toughness and beauty (and ultimately, tenderness), and seemed like a believable character. Her being the daughter of a Russian mafia boss made her fighting skills credible.

One of the things I appreciated most about this movie was its ending. I'm usually always disappointed with really badly written Hollywood endings, but I absolutely LOVED this one. For both of the young leads to share the power was a great idea (also serving to bond them in their relationship), and it could make for a superb superhero-like sequel, since their fighting skills were radically increased by the power of the scroll. Unfortunately, we'll probably never see it. *Sigh.*
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Fun and entertaining. Don't take it too seriously.
Rob_Taylor30 May 2003
It was hard to watch this film and not compare some of the wild action/fight scenes with those in the Matrix or its over-hyped sequel. Whilst the scenes in BPM are not as polished or well done as those in the Matrix, they are entertaining enough and the choreography and use of props showed much more promise and imagination than those in the Wachowski Bros. productions (at least in regard to the Matrix Reloaded, anyhow).

But this film did not receive the hype that TMR did and, consequently, my expectations of it were lower. As a result, I was not disappointed in BPM as I was with TMR. Sure, its all silliness, but at least it has the humour to go along with that silliness. In short, it doesn't take itself too seriously, and neiither should the audience.

Chow-Yun Fat shows he can play non-serious roles and get away with it, and Sean William Scott shows he can do other parts away from American Pie and its teen comedy clones. But a particular joy to see in this film is the appearance of Mako, whom I haven't seen much of in recent years. He only has a small role in this film, but he steals the show whenever he's on screen.

The kung-fu isn't quite as wild as Crouching Tiger's flying escapades nor is the wire-work quite so obvious. All in all a fun movie that should be watched as it was intended, as sheer escapism.

There are a few bad points. Watch out for the villain at the end. He should get the "worst villain's hairstyle" award for his mullet. That, and the ludicrous torture machine are the lighter negative aspects in an otherwise entertaining movie, and even they somehow just add to the fun. The only really dire moment is "Mr Funktastic's" atrocious British accent/choice of language. There are some things Hollywood will NEVER get right!
22 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Very good but light fantasy/action entertainment
Brandt Sponseller18 February 2005
Chow Yun-Fat is the "Monk with No Name" who protects an ancient scroll. Anyone who recites the scroll can harness unlimited power, utilizing it for either good or evil. The scroll-keeper has the advantage of not aging and not being able to be physically harmed. The Monk has been on the run from would be rulers of the universe for 60 years when he finally runs into a potential new scroll-keeper as promised by prophecies.

Bulletproof Monk is a "light" comic book/fantasy/action/martial arts/comedy film in the vein of The Golden Child (1986) and The Medallion (2003). It leans most strongly towards the fantasy genre, but it's frequently funny (perhaps more subtly than one would expect) and loaded with visually poetic, wire-heavy martial arts.

Seann William Scott is Kar, a street kid who has a flair for kung fu, which he picked up by endlessly watching and emulating Asian films at the theater where he both lives and works as the projectionist. He has even more of a flair for pickpocketing. The Monk runs into him while both are on the run, and there are a number of cleverly staged scenes where Kar tries to palm a few extra bucks while the Monk attempts to teach him both ethics and enlightenment via koans about things like hot dogs and buns.

During these early scenes, they run into a hilarious group of what are effectively CHUDs (Cannibalistic Humanoid Underground Dwellers) minus the C, headed by a rooster-haired thug named "Funktastic". This is some of the more slyly funny material in the film--the HUDs even have an abandoned subway car turned disco in their underground lair.

The kung fu throughout most of Bulletproof Monk is of the variety often mythologized by kids as being akin to "magic". The Monk can defy gravity, move fast enough that he seems to predict his opponent's moves with near omniscience, and dodge bullets. He can even fight and eat a bowl of Cocoa Puffs at the same time. The real aim is to approach a Matrix (1999)-like reality-bending in the film's universe. Although the fantasy, almost dance-like nature of many of the fight scenes may turn off those looking for more realistic action, Troy Liddell also choreographs some parts of fight scenes more traditionally, with Yun-Fat performing something very similar to aikido--he primarily yields instead of blocking or countering, and uses his opponent's moves against themselves. It's an interesting approach that isn't used often enough in martial arts films.

The principle flaw with Bulletproof Monk is that too many plot elements and characters seem to flow by too quickly. There isn't a lot of time to delve very far into many threads. This gives the film a more superficial feel that should have been solved by lengthening and tightening the focus to give elements at least a typical James Bond film significance and weight. Aspects of the film may also be a bit too clichéd for some viewers tastes.

But you probably wouldn't watch Bulletproof Monk expecting a masterpiece. As a wispy fantasy/action film, geared as much towards adolescents as any other age group, Bulletproof Monk is a rewarding way to spend an hour and a half. I'm a fan of Yun-Fat's work, including this film, and I enjoyed both Scott and Jaime King's performances quite a bit. In fact, I liked the film enough to hope for a sequel.
41 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Mildly entertaining hodge-podge of martial arts and commercialized Buddhism
mstomaso7 July 2005
I really wanted to like this movie. I generally enjoy Chow Yun Fat in virtually any role, I tend to enjoy martial arts films, and I am a Taoist so I at least sympathize with various forms of Buddhism. Furthermore, I believe that comic book based films are finally coming into their own as commercial cinema. However, Bulletproof Monk, though entertaining at times, never really grabbed me. I was left with the same sort of feeling I got from Tomb Raider, Aliens vs Predator, etc. Though I found Chow Yun Fat's character likable, I frequently found myself asking 'who are these people and why am I supposed to care about them?". There is a certain one-dimensionality to the characters, the script and the portrayals which can not be escaped in this film.

Chow Yun Fat has been charged with the protection of a scroll which is endowed with the secret of eternal life for over 60 years. The scroll is sought by a maniacal nazi who inexplicably turns up in Tibet during World War Two and equally improbably leads a small contingent of followers in New York city in contemporary times. Chow Yun Fat, who is in NYC for an unknown reason (probably not the best place to protect an ancient scroll of incredible power and importance), playing an unnamed Tibetan monk is pursued by this militia just as he begins to befriend a protégé who he believes might be a prophesied successor in his task of protecting the scroll (Seann William Scott). An uneasy apprenticeship begins...

The script is packed with martial art / Hollywood-Buddhist philosophical clichés, though I have to admit that this film does Buddhism better than many of its competitors. Most of these paradoxes and objects of meditations are unfortunately delivered in matter-of-fact disaffected tones. Similarly, the fight scenes are technically interesting, and convincingly violent, but generally devoid of any emotional content or ferocity. Compare any of these scenes to any performance by Bruce Lee, for example, and you'll see what I mean. Of course, Bruce was not really a traditional Buddhist, not a very ttraditional martial artist.

The cinematography is good. I especially enjoyed seeing so many familiar sights in the world's greatest city, and some of the artistically fantastic if not entirely believable sets. It was also nice to see old friends like Mako. Unfortunately, Seann William Scott's uneven performance only reinforced the frigidity of the film.

Bulletproof makes for a decent light night's entertainment, but little more. Worth seeing for martial arts and action fans.
22 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bulletproof? No. Cheesy fun? Yes.
TheBabblingFool16 April 2003
I have just gotten back from seeing Bulletproof Monk (literally) which is essentially a very cheesy movie, but dammit if it isn't fun! I knew the movie was going to be silly, but I just wanted to see some wire-fu and be entertained.

The story is silly, it's about a monk who has to protect a scroll that when read will give the reader ultimate power (of course the protector of the scroll gets the magical power of wife-fu abilities). This monk (who has no name) has to find a new protector because it's been 60 years. So he chooses a pickpocket named Kar to become the nameless monk. And then they cavort around and run into a group of neo-nazis after the scroll (those wacky neo-nazis!) a Russian mafia princess named Jade (played by the smoking hot Jaime King) and a British guy with a mohawk named Mr. Funktastic, who lives in the underground of the New York subway, and keeps making verbal threats to cut men's genitalia off.

This movie takes itself lightheartedly, so the main duo of Seann William Scott and Chow Yun-Fat act like they are cast in a buddy cop film. Both Scott and Chow are funny (especially Chow), the wire-fu is entertaining, Jaime King is hot, and the whole movie works.

It's not the best film ever, and I couldn't tell you if it's the best Chow Yun-Fat film ever, since my local Hollywood video lacks his Hong Kong imports. But Bulletproof Monk may entertain those who like cheesy martial art flicks, or appese the action junkie while he has to wait to see the next summer blockbuster. I don't like rating systems, but if I did I would give it a 6 out of 10. It's not great but good. Have fun with it.
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
You want fun, this is fun; you want Lawrence of Arabia, rent Lawrence of Arabia.
Dan Phillips24 April 2003
I'll be brief.

The movie starts with a bang, and ends with a boom, with plenty of pops and kabangs along the way.

You want a movie that's fun, with likable actors, good action, a light plot that moves right along, and more than a few genuine chuckles? This is one of those.

Watching Chow Yun Fat work is fun, whether he's giving life to a substantial, full orbed character such as in Crouching Tiger, or to a more stereotypical one as the Monk with No Name.

Don't confuse the movies, and you'll have fun. As for all the vitriolic, acidic critics... maybe some folks just need to take themselves just a tad less seriously.

Or a few tads.
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good Action Movie
Claudio Carvalho11 September 2004
In 1943, in Tibet, a monk (Yun-Fat Chow) renounces his name and becomes the new guardian of a powerful scroll. Meanwhile, a troop of Nazis leaded by a sick commander invades the monastery and kills the other monks, trying to steal the scroll. The monk without name spends the next sixty years protecting the scroll and looking for his successor, who shall be a person who fulfills three prophecies. In USA, he meets the lonely pickpocket Kar (Seann William Scott), and he believes that Kar may be the next protector of the scroll. Kar stays with the monk and falls in love with the beautiful Jade (Jaime King), while the monk is chased by a gang leaded by the former nazi commander and his daughter Nina. I found this film a good entertainment. There are lots of action, funny moments and in the end, it is a good action movie. The beauty of the unknown Jaime King is very impressive. I really did not understand why the scroll is not simply destroyed, since neither the guardians nor the monks use its power except for keeping the youth of the protector for sixty years. Further, the motives for the parallel life of Jade are simply ridiculous. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): 'O Monge à Prova de Balas' ('The Bulletproof Monk')
30 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Everybody needs a good martial arts movie.
scottbody26 November 2003
I went into this movie looking for a cheesy martial arts movie. I was surprised to find that the movie had more quality than expected. This is not to say that the production values were the greatest. The movie followed all the asian movie stereotypes but was done better than most cheap movies. Good movie overall, better than I expected.
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Dreadful
puri817 November 2005
This is one of the most appalling films I have ever seen. I wanted to switch this film off in the first 10 minutes. Don't get me wrong. I love my fantasy/action movie but this one was terrible. The effects were ridiculous. The storyline was weak. The whole emphasis on "the chosen one" was laughable. I love Chow Yun-Fat and I'm a major martial art nut but this film just made martial arts look bad. Compare this to Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon or House of Flying Daggers and it doesn't even come close to the brilliance of these two films. John Woo...this was not one of your best pieces of work. The enemies were typical and idiotic. I was yawning all the way through. You need a film to keep you interested and wanting to find out what happens next. Films are supposed to follow a simple pattern of the following: 1) What is happening in the ordinary World 2) The Call to adventure 3) refusal of the call to adventure 4) meeting the mentor 5) getting over the first threshold and so on.... This film followed this in such a cliché way that it looked as though no effort was made into directing let alone the idea of the film. Every moment in the film was predictable and this was frustrating.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Asian-style cinema for kids!
Li-115 February 2004
Rating: * out of ****

There are movies that are made for specific audiences and then there are movies that want to play to all audiences but end up appealing only to a certain demographic group. This applies particularly to Bulletproof Monk, which at first glance, is a movie for teens. Its got martial arts, guns, Matrix-style fight scenes, a hot babe, and even a plot that involves Nazis and a sacred artifact a la Indiana Jones.

But where as the Indy flicks could definitely play to all ages (even with all the bloody shootings and gory death scenes that must have stretched the PG ratings in Raiders of the Lost Ark and Temple of Doom), Bulletproof Monk is strictly a kids' flick. What does that mean? It means if you're over the age of twelve, you'll probably find yourself bored by the film.

How exactly does this movie narrow its appeal only to kids? Well, there's the story, which involves the "sacred artifact which must not get in the hands of evil." Yeah, sure, I know what you're thinking, the Indy flicks all had that same premise, too. But there's a difference. The first and third (not so much the second) truly gave the viewer a good idea of what was at stake if the prized possession fell into the wrong hands, and better yet, the macguffins were far more interesting than what's given to us here. I mean, come on, which would you prefer: the Ark of the Covenant and the Holy Grail or a sacred scroll?

Chow Yun-Fat plays the protector of the scroll, a job that sounds like it'd suck considering it means living a life on the run. But there are benefits, notably the fact that he's impervious to bullets and can't age so long as he's the scroll's guardian. His only mission is to protect it while searching for the next guardian. That's where Seann William Scott comes in.

Playing a pickpocket named Kar, he's the typical Thief with a Heart of Gold. So now Chow's got to train Kar to be the next protector while also evading capture from a nasty old Nazi (Karel Roden) who wants the rejuvenating powers of the scroll for himself.

Watching Bulletproof Monk, there's a clear sense of desperation on hand. Director Paul Hunter (his feature film debut) does a messy job of putting this film together, sloppily introducing puzzling plot elements along the way (the training school for potential scroll guardians, goons led by Roden's granddaughter, the origin of Kar's martial arts). It's like a cut and paste job, the worst part being the fact that too much of it is pasted together with MTV-style edits and quick cuts. A couple of the action sequences are okay, but most of it collapses in a mess of unconvincing martial arts, awful blue-screens, and confusing editing.

Seann William Scott is an odd choice to play Kar, mostly because the script doesn't play the role to his talents, that is, it doesn't give him any low-brow humor to work with. Scott's made a career out of playing total goofballs so it comes as a bit of a surprise that Chow Yun-Fat has more moments of comic relief. Adding James King into the mix is merely a bone tossed to either the girl-power female crowd or the horny male teens. Because her performance and martial arts work are subpar, she won't appeal to the former, and because she doesn't get naked, she'll only marginally appeal to latter.

Chow Yun-Fat is still the best thing Monk has going for it; he's charming, likable, and surprisingly quite funny. It's also interesting to see that at this stage of his career, he's leaning more towards martial arts flicks than his usual "heroic bloodshed" films he was so famous for in Hong Kong.

At the beginning of this review, I noted that Monk was a kids' flick; how does that work? Simple, take every possible kick-ass element (martial arts, gun battles, hot chicks) that is used to appeal to the teenage to twenty-something crowd and water it down so that only kids will enjoy it (hardly any bone-crunching violence, Chow only uses guns once, zero nudity and hardly any cleavage, etc.).
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Tough to like
grey-boy8 July 2004
I love action movies. I love action movies with lots of martial-arts, special effects, and explosions - especially when they have cheesy dialouge that lets you sit back and enjoy the ride (anything with The Rock or Vin Diesel, for instance). But somehow, this movie just wasn't enjoyable. Sean Patrick Harris didn't add much comic relief (as I expected based on his other roles), and the storyline/characters were just way too cliché. The kung-fu-by-wire shots looked tired and derivative. And I just didn't buy Jamie King and her troop of misfits (who hang out in their "secret" subway hideout! Zoinks!)

I'd go ahead and skip this one. But if you do see it, be sure to watch the alternate ending to see how awful this movie could have really been.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Just Too Dopey
travisimo31 December 2003
Bulletproof Monk is the type of movie where you know that the people involved didn't take it too seriously. That's all well and good, but even from a light-hearted side, this movie was just too dopey to even be considered that funny.

It had a few moments. Sean William Scott had a few funny lines, and Chow Yun-Fat had some deadpan moments. However, for a low-brow action-comedy, Bulletproof Monk still was pretty poor. Most of the jokes didn't trigger a chuckle, the dialogue was often just plain corny, and the fighting scenes were mediocre. I think the beautiful and breathtaking fighting sequences we saw in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon should hardly ever be mimicked, especially by a movie like this.

This movie is pretty much completely dispensable. It did keep my interest sometimes, but other than that, there's not really many redeeming qualities about Bulletproof Monk.

My IMDb Rating: 4/10. My Yahoo! Grade: C- (Disappointing)
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Inspiring and Fun Loving Movie
kakashi_otaku14 February 2007
This movie isn't the greatest martial arts film of all time but I can guarantee that most martial arts fans out there will enjoy it to some degree. The characters and the storyline are a bit cliché but all in all it is a fun movie with lovable characters, and some great scenes. Chow-Yun Fat did a great job and so did Sean William Scott. At first I didn't think that Sean William Scott could pull off a "chosen one from a martial arts film" role but he managed to do it and do it well. Jaime King is one of the most beautiful actresses out there and she was superb in the movie as well.

Definitely give this movie a chance, because it's story, characters and cinematography will actually surprise you.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A comic book fans view!
mototigg17 June 2004
I admit that I love comic books and I had read some of the "Bulletproof Monk" comics before the movie came out. "Spiderman" is not real and how many of us are going to be bit by radioactive spiders? "X-Men" mutants don't exist; we can't teleport or shoot claws out of our hands. Most movies based off of comic books you really have to use your imagination because of the fact the there is no way that it could ever be real. "Bulletproof Monk" has an air of reality in it that anyone can be a hero.

I enjoyed the movie; I thought that the screenwriters went to great lengths to create a believable story from a sometimes unbelievable comic. I feel that the main message was passed on from the comic successfully, anyone can be a hero.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
It could have been good...
kilgore-trout19 September 2003
I have to say that I was sadly disappointed by this movie. Not that my expcectations were very high to begin with but I felt that the basic premise of the story actually had good potential. Unfortunately that potential was squandered.

As a semi-brainless action film with some good special effects it was entertaining. But the movie repeatedly fell into the pitraps cliches and stereotypes. An australian gang leader living in the subways named "Funktastic" with the bad-girl girlfriend? You've got to be kidding. It almost felt like too many producers had their greedy fingers in the pie and the whole thing got watered down to the lowest common denominator.

If they had have taken the time to go beyond the cliches and stereotypes and write some interesting dialog and supporting characters it could have been good.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Great job of a mediocre idea
alexanderchalkidis18 January 2016
It is pretty hard to take a film seriously when it starts with two monks sparing on a bridge and flying around. That whole karate/flying/Chinese wire trick...really...why? But "Bulletproof monk" pulls it off well. For starters, it is the first movie with an explanation of how to walk on air. But mainly the two lead roles are likable and drive the story forward all the time.

The old guy from Tibet is neither Jackie Chan, nor some martial arts guru. More like a regular guy you might want as a neighbour. The young guy is a New York pick pocket, smart kid but not falling into any easy pidgeon holes either. None of those overdone slow motion stylistic shows action movies on a budget often fall for. If our hero needs to take out ten bad guys, OK, he does some fancy stuff, but he gets on with it.

Plot is the normal thing. We all have to protect some ancient scroll with the secret to ultimate power. Twist is that some Nazi has been chasing it since the second World War. Yeah, we have heard that before too. But it really doesn't matter, the take is fresh. My kids watched it straight after the Spiderwick Chronicles, same story, protecting a book from evil, but they didn't mind at all.

The girl in the film is interesting too. While Star Wars fans pine and groan about Rey not getting her own doll, the female lead in this film is cool, sexy, sweet, tough, able and with a nice twist at the end does real equality sort of stuff. In all, a great cast guided by an obviously good team, makes a great job of a mediocre idea.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
I really shouldn't have enjoyed it as much as I did
Leofwine_draca19 December 2015
For a clichéd piece of fluff, because that's clearly what BULLETPROOF MONK is, it's a far better film than you might imagine. Much of that likability rests on whether you like or loathe Seann William Scott, the actor best known for his goofy roles like Stifler in the American PIE films. I have to say, I love his acting and I find him a very funny person, probably the only person in Hollywood today who can bring a smile to my face. So much of my entertainment in this film came from his appearance, playing a thief turned hero.

Elsewhere, this is the kind of bogus mystical flick that gets churned out regularly by studios. It's very similar to THE MEDALLION, with Jackie Chan, which came out in the same year, and I enjoyed it equally as much as that movie. One thing you have to remember is that these are lightly plotted bits of nonsense, heavily clichéd throughout and displaying the kind of wirework I usually loathe. BULLETPROOF MONK is a silly film, sometimes completely stupid – like the villain's lair, for instance – but it's hard to dislike as a buddy-buddy type comedy.

Chow Yun-Fat is the straight man, used to doing this kind of noble hero stuff in his sleep, and the film just kind of takes place around him. Scott supplies the comedy, I'm not sure what Jaime King is around for other than to look very pretty, and Karel Roden is a Nazi villain who seems to have come straight out of HELLBOY. There are some other amusing bit parts, like the appearance of Mako in one of his last roles, plus British television actress Victoria Smurfit playing another villain with a stiff-upper-lip accent.

The action isn't great, but it has a nicely violent edge for what is essentially a kid's film. I didn't care for the wirework, but the straightforward fighting scenes are good. They rip off Jackie Chan films pretty heavily for the style, choreography and reliance on props, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Special effects are decent and the film has a good pace. While the dialogue isn't entirely credible and some of the minor characters/situations completely laughable, and not in a good way, for the most part BULLETPROOF MONK is amiable tosh and a film I got a lot of enjoyment from.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Absolutely funny and entertaining to watch
blackdragoon_1322 February 2015
I stumbled with this movie back when I had 14 years old. Loved it then, still love it now. The fights are great, even if they are not so polished like other movies from then, but it actually adds up to the enjoyment of the film (wich kinda feels like one of those Chinese martial arts flicks).

As for the humor and jokes, that's the thing I always enjoyed more of anything in this film. From one liners to the absurd situations our heroes (and villains) stumble, it's easy to be entertained. If you don't believe me, check out the scene of the "noodle soup instructions" or the "handshake" between kar and the monk apprentice.

Simply put, it has everything: explosions, a beautiful (and talented girl in Jade), martial arts, a Mcguffin of epic proportions, Nazis as villains (wich never live it down) etc. Watch it if you want to spend some time with light fun and without convoluted themes.

I don't deny it has flaws, but after all this is a movie that doesn't take itself seriously, so you shouldn't be disappointed if you wanted to find something more dark and edgy.

By the way, to those of you that won't believe the sight of Nazis in Tibet, claiming it's false and bullshit, check your facts: Nazi Germany send some explorers to the área in the hopes of expending their knowledge about the arian race and phisionomy of the locals (others say that the expeditions were made to contact the people of Shammballa or other mythological folk). So, while there were Nazis in Tibet sometime in the 1930's, they withdrawn when the war kept growing and growing.

Enjoy the film!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Fun
Neil Welch1 October 2010
Warning: Spoilers
There is a market for escapist nonsense, and this movie fits right into it. The story doesn't really matter, other than to note that it serves as a satisfactory vehicle around which to drape a series of fantasy based action sequences.

More importantly this is a "buddy" movie where Chow Yun Fat's venerable monk mentors the rough-edged Seann William Scott.

Chow is a class actor - one of those reliable performers who always brings an element of dignity to roles which don't always deserve it. Scott, on the other hand, seems to have only ever played one character and, yes, it's Stifler again, only with the obnoxiousness and crudeness dialled right down.

But there is good chemistry between the two of them, and the development of the relationship between them is a happy thing to watch.

And that's it, really. A martial arts buddy movie, laced with humour and, as such, a couple of hours of undemanding fun.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Funny and fast-moving
ctomvelu-19 November 2008
With an opening that clearly influenced BATMAN BEGINS, BULLETPROOF MONK is about a Tibetan monk (Fat) entrusted with a precious scroll. He "enlists" the aid of a street punk (Williams) to keep the scroll out of the hands of a Nazi (Roden), who is right out of an Indiana Jones movie. Lots of fighting and gags, and Fat and Williams work well together. The contents of the scroll, which bounces back and forth between the good guys and bad guys, provides something of a surprise near the end. Roden makes the perfect villain, and the climactic fight between Roden and Williams is eye-popping. Wire fu abounds, but this is a fantasy flick, after all, and not to be taken seriously. The very attractive Jamie King plays the mandatory love interest.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A good film
s_sonjay18 May 2003
It wont change the world but I feel that watching this movie was not a waste of my time. It's entertaining and in some places rather funny. So what if Sean William Scott isn't the greatest actor ever he's more than suitable for the of kar a petty thief who runs into the "bullet proof" monk played as always with charm buy Chow Yun Fat (or Yun Fat Chow whatever u wont to say). There are only two real criticisms I have about this film the first is that I felt that the Kar/Monk relationship could have been built upon a bit more, when Kar says (just after monk has been kidnapped) Monk is the only family I've got I though but u only new him a few days, if they were supposed to had trained even for a few weeks I could had believed there bond a bit better. The second is that the villain was rather weak. His grandchild would have made a better on her own that bye taking orders from an old megalomaniac. All in all put fun doesn't bring anything new but it doesn't try to 7/10.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Far More Fun Than It Has Any Right To Be
Scarlet-2211 May 2003
Don't go into this movie expecting Citizen Kane, and you'll be fine. It's pure cheese, but cheese can be good sometimes. Seann William Scott is much better than I thought he'd be, Chow-Yun Fat doesn't take himself too seriously, Jamie King is very pretty, and the story is serviceable.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews